Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I don't understand why these fries don't have a five star rating--they're delicious, AND healthy! My mother and I made these for Thanksgiving dinner (we're Canadian--that's October for us) and loved them. Hint: if you don't like spicy foods, leave out the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These were tasty but it seemed like the taco seasoning overpowered the sweetness of the potato but I did enjoy the spice from the cayenne.I will make this again but instead of taco seasoning,just cayenne,paprika,chilli powder and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
these did not turn out good at all... they burned very fast, after 10 minutes. Parts were charred, parts were soggy.. I don't know where I went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These were nice for a 1st try! Combined ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These were WAY too spicy! I followed the recipe to a T, but these burned and had little flavor. I had to add sea salt to give them some flavor. If I do make these again, I will cut down on the taco seasoning and the cayenne, and add garlic pawder, sea salt and cracked pepper. I think the temp and cook time was not right, because these burned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I had already mixed in the Mexican spices (taco seasoning less the salt) by the time I read all the reviews that said that was a bad idea but once we tried them out, we thought it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I took other's advice and skipped the taco seasoning. I seasoned with olive oil and sea salt and then cooked 425 for 20 min and 400 for 30 mins and they were awesome! A few burned but that's ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Still searching for a sweet potato fry recipe that is crispy on the outside. Not sure if this is possible, but this isn't the recipe. Since I was just making this for the two of us, I eyeballed the seasonings according to the amount of fries I was making. Tasty, tender on the inside, but definitely not crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I like others used a different seasoning, also used olive oil, tasted good but one side of the potatoes burned the other side didn't brown enough, I used parchment paper so they didn't stick but they were not crispy. Will try this again but at a lower temp. or not so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I followed others suggestions and tried to cook these on 400 for one hour. Some were black and others were mushy. Not what I hoped for. I will have to look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States