Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
1 hour at 425 F is WAY too long. Your fries will burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
i didn't quite enjoy this recipe because i'm not much of a sweet potato person. the seasonings would be fine on regular potatoes in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Love sweet potatoes in all of their many forms, but the cooking temp and time on this needs to be adjusted to I don't know what. Cut mine into what I would consider to be a normal size, even some a bit thick thinking that they would shrink when cooking. They burned within the first 30 minutes at 425 degrees. I have a gas oven...Three stars because I know that this recipe has potential. I've had frozen chipotle fries at home and enjoyed the them, and the seasoning on this tastes just like those...I may try to make this again, first steaming the fries, then either bake at my normal cooking temp of 350 and monitor them very closely, or briefly pan fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have made this twice now to accompany a hamburger. I've been using "marisella Oct, 31,2007" review. She uses chili powder, garlic powder, fresh pepper, and Kosher salt (all to taste) and two TBS olive oil. 400 degrees for 40 minutes. She has it down pat! For just the two of us; two smallish sweet potato's are plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I tossed mine with veg oil, sugar and cinnamon. YUM!! Everyone loved them and they cooked quicker than expected. Great prep method. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious. I'll definitely make this a regular item in my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I used safflower oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
i used one humongous sweet potato. i tried my best to use the right amount of seasonings (about one sixth of the original recipe.) and my cook time was ten min per side at 400 degrees. turned out pretty good, about like any other homemade sweet potato fries. the seasoning was an interesting change. i can't seem to get my family interested but thats not the recipes fault, i guess they just prefer regular fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
First of all, an IMPORTANT WORD OF WARNING: Do not combine the sweet potatoes with the seasoning mix earlier in the day!!!! The first time I made this recipe I did this, and the potatoes leached moisture and ended up being a soggy, disgusting, completely inedible disaster. I baked them, hoping they'd "dry out" but it didn't work... I had to sacrifice the entire batch. :-( My second attempt at making these was much more successful! The only thing I changed from the original recipe was to substitute the Canola for Olive Oil and reduce the cooking time to 40 minutes in total. They were crispy, tasty, and a reasonably healthy alternative to regular fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Came out soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States