Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My first attempt making a fry that I love! I had one huge sweet potato and I used veg oil, kosher salt, and pepper in place of the other spices. My fries really stuck to the greased foil, so I might use extra oil/spray to avoid the sticking problem in the future... But they were sooo tasty! Next time, I'll also drop the oven temperature a bit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I don't like sweet potatoes but I thought I might try these to see if I just didn't have a great recipe for them. I think that they probably tasted ok, but I couldn't get past the texture. I had trouble getting them to crisp like other reviewers, and they were very mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I loved these sweet potato fries, but as others have said you need to lower the temp to 400 or they will burn. I only cooked them for 20 minutes on each side. I made homemade taco seasoning and it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I usually have trouble making these, but not this time. I also use a glass dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was so awesome. And partially healthy! (w/o the oil obvs) Well, that is if you don't end up eating 4 servings like I did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I've made this several times, and never have a problem with burning. However, I use a glass baking dish and spray with Pam. I generally use one large sweet potatoe for the two of us. I do not peel them, and I cut into fries not too thick. I toss them into a bowl, add salt & pepper, add about 2 cloves of diced garlic and about 2 tablespoons of virgin olive oil. Mix to coat. Microwave on Baked Potato setting, then toss to mix again. Bake at 375 for about 30-40 minutes. I add about 1 tablespoon of butter, and mix just before serving. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE4242

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Mine turned out soft. The taste was just okay. Not sure if I'll make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
The kids loved these! A great substitute for french fries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I used the Taco Seasoning I recipe instead of store bought mixes (It is yummy). I still added the cayenne pepper to it. These fries were delicious and had a nice kick to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barberton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
All of us liked these, including my 8 year old son! These will be our new recipe when we eat fries. I used seasoning salt instead of the taco seasoning. I can see that oven temperature and cooking time will have to be worked on. I did adjust per other reviewers and I am sure it is all to do with how thick you slice your potatoes. I have a french fry slicer so I can make consistant sized fries each time. As healthy as these are and as delicious as they are I think they are worth working with to help us get healthy. A definite addition to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States