Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Mine always turn out soggy! I'll turn the temp up but then they burn too quickly. The only way I can think of getting crispy fries is by deep frying them. And I am afraid of deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I love the idea of these. I just can't figure out how to crisp them. I've tried broiling, but even for a short period (2-3 minutes) I end up with burned ends and smooshy insides. The taste is wonderful, but I really wish I could crisp them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
good but not sure why we keep rating this recipe because I used the methods discussed below of cutting the sweet potatoes into fries then mixing with olive oil, salt and pepper. I also added a hint of lemon and garlic salt. Delicious result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIZWHITE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
UNBELIVABLE My husband and I just finished it all right off the pan..Mind you we used 2 potatoes. But it was so amazing we couldn't even bring ourselves to use plates.. We upped the cayenne pepper for a spicier treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I thought they were quite good actually. Mixed them in a ziplock with some EEVO,pepper, garlic salt, seasoned salt (just a bit) and a teaspoon and a half of cayenne pepper. They were about as crispy as your going to get them unless you leave them in a bit longer but 20 minutes at 400 degrees one side and turn them and bake for about 23 minutes more and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
These are pretty good. They don't turn out as crisp as I'd like but I don't think you can get that crispness without deep frying. I add cumin to the mix and leave out the taco seasoning but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
LOL...these reviews are freaking hilarious, how do you completely change the recipe and still give it 5 stars? its a completely new recipe... So anyways keepin with the trend here i figured i minus well add my 2 cents. ok So i made sweet potatoe fries, not this recipe at all. Cut the fries, added them to ziplock with olive oil , season salt, pepper, and garlic power, shaked, then baked. They were great. not this recipe but i will give it 4 stars for having me want to try to make sweet potato fries in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYTRUTH20

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Really good. Will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made these with a mixture of seasoning salt and a few dashes of cayenne. Lower temp. oven reduces the chance of burning, especially if your fries are on the thinner side. Hubby is now a sweet potato fan! Can't make enough batches for the family. I'm so glad I gave this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I am so in love with these! I have a hard time getting them really crispy like regular fries. Maybe I will try broiling them a little next time. You can add as much or as little seasoning you want. Heck, change it up once in a while too! GOOD and Good for you!! don't forget to leave the skins on, more fiber that way. Winner! Thanks and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States