Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have made this twice now to accompany a hamburger. I've been using "marisella Oct, 31,2007" review. She uses chili powder, garlic powder, fresh pepper, and Kosher salt (all to taste) and two TBS olive oil. 400 degrees for 40 minutes. She has it down pat! For just the two of us; two smallish sweet potato's are plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I tossed mine with veg oil, sugar and cinnamon. YUM!! Everyone loved them and they cooked quicker than expected. Great prep method. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious. I'll definitely make this a regular item in my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I used safflower oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
i used one humongous sweet potato. i tried my best to use the right amount of seasonings (about one sixth of the original recipe.) and my cook time was ten min per side at 400 degrees. turned out pretty good, about like any other homemade sweet potato fries. the seasoning was an interesting change. i can't seem to get my family interested but thats not the recipes fault, i guess they just prefer regular fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
First of all, an IMPORTANT WORD OF WARNING: Do not combine the sweet potatoes with the seasoning mix earlier in the day!!!! The first time I made this recipe I did this, and the potatoes leached moisture and ended up being a soggy, disgusting, completely inedible disaster. I baked them, hoping they'd "dry out" but it didn't work... I had to sacrifice the entire batch. :-( My second attempt at making these was much more successful! The only thing I changed from the original recipe was to substitute the Canola for Olive Oil and reduce the cooking time to 40 minutes in total. They were crispy, tasty, and a reasonably healthy alternative to regular fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Came out soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Overall the method is very good but I only used kosher salt and pepper as seasoning. A warning to those who have electric ovens, turn it waaaaay down. Even 400 was too high for my oven, my first batch burnt for the most part. My next batch I cooked at 350 for 30 minutes and then went from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
First off, forget the nasty PAM spray and use PARCHMENT PAPER. You get a perfectly browned French fry. I cut my fries, rinsed them, pat dry. Place in a bowl. Add about three tablespoons of olive oil; Toss well and spread out potatoes on your parchment lined cookie tray. I sprinkled them with sea salt, pepper, paprika, and a dash of cayenne! Bake at 425 for 15 min, then stir, bake an additional 10-15 and enjoy! (keep an eye on them the last 10 minutes). I used one VERY large sweet potato for the two of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
It was a good method of cooking, but the spices were way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States