Spicy Baked Feta (Feta Psiti) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is delicious! It's also ridiculously easy, but unique, so it's impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is very similar to what I make. I add sliced tomotoes to this as well as italien dressing. The oil kind not the creamy. Always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Extremely good. My teenager and I ate just about all of this as soon as it came out of the oven. I am not normally big on red pepper flakes. (I tend to like crushed) BUT, I did take your advice and put tons on. You were right, the dairy in the cheese totally cut the overwhelming pepper I normally get from the flakes. I also added fresh oragano from my herb garden. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a traditional recipe that you'll find in tavernas and mezedopoleio (meze restaurants) all over Greece. The simple flavors and preparation should be savored! I wouldn't add anything else to this recipe, as the contrast between salty/sour and spicy, as well as the creamy texture of the baked feta, are quite enough to make a great little dish! Note that feta doesn't 'melt' the way most cheeses do, so you will fine that the slice of feta will hold its shape. It won't be spreadable either. But it should be soft and bubbly throughout. You'll want to serve right away, because the feta will harden as it cools. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This recipe is simple, yet AMAZING. I don't know what that other guy was talking about, there are no additional flavors needed. Maybe he had some cheap/bad feta or an unrefined palette. Anyway, I just can't say enough about how wonderful this recipe is. When I ate it with my husband and our three year old child, we all could not stop discussing how wonderful it was with our friends for the next week. Here's a little tip: follow the recipe exactly, add nothing. It is PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Yummy! I added a bit of paprika on my feta and left out the chili though. Eat it while it's still fresh from the oven, because as it cools it hardens up and is harder to eat on pita. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
We've made this delicious feta recipe numerous times and more recently on the BBQ (on aluminum foil with the sides crimped up to catch drips). We discovered that we needed lots of chili pepper flakes when using the "stale" stuff from the Bulk Barn. Just the other day with friends, I crushed up some dried chilis I stored in a jar from last year's garden, and boy oh boy, what an amazing flavour! We BBQ'd 2 large 1/4 inch slabs and ate them with garlic buttered toasted pitas and everyone including kids was ranting and raving over the flavour. So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Excellent idea. I drizzled with garlic infused olive oil and added cherry tomatoes and juice from 1/2 a lemon. Huge hit at my cocktail party last night. Be sure to enjoy when it's hot, as the feta hardens back up as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I was so glad to see this recipe! This was one of my favorite things to order when I lived in Greece. Greeks tend to shy away from spicy food, so this was a real treat. I've never seen it without a red sauce before, which is how I prepared it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Excellent as is! I used my own home-made feta, and didn't measure anything. I was worried the pepper flakes would be too hot but they just added a really nice piquancy. Can't wait to make it for friends & family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States