Spicy Baked Feta (Feta Psiti) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
When making this recipe I used half the amount of crushed red pepper and it was still WAY too much. I like crushed red pepper but it overwhelmed the rest of the dip. I would make this again but I feel like it needs some garlic added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I was so glad to see this recipe! This was one of my favorite things to order when I lived in Greece. Greeks tend to shy away from spicy food, so this was a real treat. I've never seen it without a red sauce before, which is how I prepared it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Excellent idea. I drizzled with garlic infused olive oil and added cherry tomatoes and juice from 1/2 a lemon. Huge hit at my cocktail party last night. Be sure to enjoy when it's hot, as the feta hardens back up as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
We've made this delicious feta recipe numerous times and more recently on the BBQ (on aluminum foil with the sides crimped up to catch drips). We discovered that we needed lots of chili pepper flakes when using the "stale" stuff from the Bulk Barn. Just the other day with friends, I crushed up some dried chilis I stored in a jar from last year's garden, and boy oh boy, what an amazing flavour! We BBQ'd 2 large 1/4 inch slabs and ate them with garlic buttered toasted pitas and everyone including kids was ranting and raving over the flavour. So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is delicious! It's also ridiculously easy, but unique, so it's impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Yummy! I added a bit of paprika on my feta and left out the chili though. Eat it while it's still fresh from the oven, because as it cools it hardens up and is harder to eat on pita. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Delicious! I didn't measure the oregano and red pepper flakes. I also had FF feta that fell apart. I would make this again if I was was looking for a recipe to use use my leftover feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great! I didn't know if the feta would hold it's own (I usually do the spinach/feta thing). Also good baked with a marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonysmoogie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Follansbee, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This recipe is simple, yet AMAZING. I don't know what that other guy was talking about, there are no additional flavors needed. Maybe he had some cheap/bad feta or an unrefined palette. Anyway, I just can't say enough about how wonderful this recipe is. When I ate it with my husband and our three year old child, we all could not stop discussing how wonderful it was with our friends for the next week. Here's a little tip: follow the recipe exactly, add nothing. It is PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a traditional recipe that you'll find in tavernas and mezedopoleio (meze restaurants) all over Greece. The simple flavors and preparation should be savored! I wouldn't add anything else to this recipe, as the contrast between salty/sour and spicy, as well as the creamy texture of the baked feta, are quite enough to make a great little dish! Note that feta doesn't 'melt' the way most cheeses do, so you will fine that the slice of feta will hold its shape. It won't be spreadable either. But it should be soft and bubbly throughout. You'll want to serve right away, because the feta will harden as it cools. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States