Spicy Baked Cod Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I am so glad I found this recipe. As the editor's note suggested I used a jar of ready made masala I already had (you can find it in almost any grocery store.) I always have it on hand and use it for a quick super w/chicken. I never knew how amazing it would be w/ fish! I only used a 1/2 the jar to marinade the fish and followed your baking instructions! Best Cod I've ever hand! And definatly not boring! Served w/ basmati rice, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic_mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I very much enjoyed this recipe, this is a keeper for me. Best cod i have ever had. I could not find ginger paste at any of my local stores so i substituted ground ginger instead, but it still was excellent. One note, the recipe as written is very spicy. I used less than half of the cayenne pepper called for and it was still very spicy. I enjoyed it, but next time i will use even less cayenne pepper for my families sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Watts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Oustanding. Like another reviewer, I couldn't find ginger paste. Instead, I made a paste using crushed ginger and ground garam masala powder. Very flavorful and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
was looking for something to spice up the cod supply i have and this was it. dind't have ginger-garlic paste, used equal parts grated fresh ginger and garlic. couldn't find tandoori masala paste, used tandoori masala spice mix. ran short on cayenne, probably used half and it was plenty spicy and we like our food spicy. i also cooked it in the marinade...wonder what it would be like without it. will make this again for sure! thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Flavor of marinade is overwhelming and way too spicy! In all fairness, I marinaded it overnight. If the marinade were thinner, it wouldn't have coated the fish so thickly and perhaps it would have been more mellow a flavor. I suggested reducing the cayenne pepper to 1/3 of what it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Delicious. I mistakenly used 6 T yogurt, but it turned out awesome. I also cut the cayenne to 1 tsp, and thought it could have used a little more, especially since I was stretching the sauce. Those were the major changes, other than ditching the garlic, and using some ginger powder. I used my white wine vinegar and 2 T Garam Masala powder.... that's all i had. And...I did not put the oil/butter on top because there was plenty of sauce to cover the fish. It was moist, tender and delicious. I hope I didn't change it too much, but it turned out great. Thank you for the recipe! (PS 10 minute prep time turned into at 20 mins or more)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I couldn't find the tandoori paste or ginger-garlic paste. I added minced garlic and increased a few of the seasonings. These came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
We loved this as a concept - it was delicious! I halved the cayenne, as suggested by others, and I would probably tone down the spices next time but we were amazed at a marinated cod that was yummy without being battered and fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
As other reviewers mentioned, this recipe comes out REALLY spicy. I followed the advice and used about half the amount of cayenne pepper and still found it quite spicy (and my husband and I are both fans of very hot/spicy foods). I liked the spiciness, but it was definitely intense. I'll probably cut the cayenne pepper even more if I make this again. I couldn't find ginger-garlic paste, but it was easy to just add some ginger and garlic to the dish. I also couldn't find the tandoori masala paste so I substituted a bit of garam masala instead. No idea if that's even a reasonable substitute, but it still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Perfection! I didn't have tandoori masala paste, so I combined 2 Tbsp garam masala, 2 Tbsp cumin, 4 tsp paprika, 1 tsp turmeric, 1/2 tsp chili powder. Then I took about 1.5 Tbsp of my mixture and added about 1Tbsp water to form paste. Also, like other reviewers, I cut back on the cayenne. I love my food super spicy, but my toddlers can't handle the same amount of heat, so I only added about 1 tsp of cayenne. Very yummy! I think I might even use this marinade for baking paneer or tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States