Spicy BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Great recipe! I used this as a marinade instead. I didn't bother cooking this on the stove. I used 1 lb. of boneless chicken breasts that I poked with a fork and placed into a ziploc bag. For the marinade I used 1 Tbsp of dried minced onion vs. regular onion, Heinz chili sauce vs. ketchup, 1 Tbsp. of brown sugar, and added 2 tsp. of smoked paprika. I mixed everything together and poured it over the chicken. I let it marinate overnight and grilled it over charcoal - excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
best bbq chicken i've had..i'm not a huge fan of bbq sauce, its always too sweet...but this was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
For those concerned about burning chicken on the grill the alternate is grill then take chicken and extra sauce and put under the BROILER watching the chicken carefully. You will still have that grill flavor and no burned offering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This had an awsome flavor to it. My kids are so picky and even they ate it. I would recommend maybe baking this in the oven at 350 for 10-15 minutes before putting on the grill to keep the outside of the chicken from getting burned, but still cook the chicken properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very tasty after a few modifications. I used 2 cloves of garlic, 2 Tbs. brown sugar and 1/4-1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper! In order to get a thicker sauce, I pureed the sauce after cooking. I used skinless boneless chicken breasts and basted the last 6 minutes of grilling. **Hint for not burning sauce, turn off the side of the grill that has the chicken on it while basting.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Loved the flavor and ease of sauce but have to admit I had a heck of a time with the grill flaming up and the skin getting burnt. Any suggestions? I finally got frustrated enough that I finished it off in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZ Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creighton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is very similar to my standard bbq sauce. I omit oil and add about 1 - 1 1/2 tsp of celery seed (and usually double the recipe.) I mix sauce all together and cover cut up chicken, ribs etc and bake in oven or crock pot. The extra cooked sauce is really good on top of mashed potatoes and my kids LOVE extra onions in this sauce - and they normally pick out the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Pretty good! I ended up adding a splash more Worcestershire sauce, and a couple of garlic bouillon cubes. A dash of liquid smoke might have been nice too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This is excellent!! I did use sugar free ketchup (for hubby who watches sugar intake) but definitely didn't leave out the brown sugar! I let it simmer a little longer to thicken up (the s/f ketchup was very loose compared to "real" ketchup) and I had no trouble with flareups... it did come out rather spicy this way... so I'm guessing that the sweetness of regular ketchup would have tempered the spice. I would definitely make it again (but maybe decrease the amt of hot sauce if doing a reduced sugar version)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was a quick and easy replacement for commercial barbecue sauces. I upped the brown sugar and added liquid smoke. I ended up with a hot, sweet and smoky barbecue sauce. Freaking awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken

See how to put the thrill back into summer grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States