Spicy Apricot Chicken Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I made just as directed, consistency and texture were correct, but the sauce was bland. Needed a lot of seasoning and was just ho-hum. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
There was nothing bad about it, but nothing to rave about either. My 12 yr old thoroughly enjoyed it, and we'll be making it again because of that. I thought it was missing something, although the pineapples and apricots were amazingly good in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
The only reason I can't offer this awesome recipe five stars is because I changed it for necessity's sake. I found this recipe while trying to fix a meal with what was in my pantry and so my ingredients were limited. I used powdered ginger (half the amount) because I had no fresh, I use fresh garlic (almost twice as much) because I had no powder, no pineapple, and no green onion. The biggest risk was that I use apricot preserves instead of caned apricots which added a touch of sweetness. I cooked the veggies separate but I'll mix them in next time. Even my skeptical 18 year old nephew loved it....I'll make this again. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Delicious sauce and chicken! Instead of frozen veggies, I used fresh bell and sweet peppers, broccoli, zucchini, and tomato and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Sorry I did not care for this at all, the flavour was OK, altho certainly not what I would consider spicy. I used a lot of fresh garlic, rather than powder and I still didn't think the sauce had much flavour. I also thought the texture of the canned apricots conflicted too much with the slightly crunchy veggies. If I left the apricots out, and seasoned up the sauce more, would be good, but then it wouldn't be this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I tweaked the apricot and pineapple amounts based on what I had (more pineapple than apricots) and it was still wicked good. Added some fresh garlic to the ginger, and put some shrimp in there too. As others noticed, the sauce didn't thicken up a whole lot so I added a bit more cornstarch. Still little liquidy, but liked it because the rice absorbed the extra. Definite keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Wonderful recipe. I've made this a couple of times now and the whole family enjoys the flavour. The only reason this is 4 stars rather than 5 is because the sauce does need to be thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
To the frozen vegetables I added water chestnuts and fresh snow peas. I had to leave out the crushed red peppers because our stomachs can't handle them. However, I do believe it would have been better with them. Leaving them out, I should have increased the other seasonings. I plan to do that the next time. Made according to recipe this would be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Great easy recipe! I also added the juice from the pineapple to the sauce mixture and doubled the other ingredients in the sauce mixture to compensate for the extra juice. It turned out well as I didn't want to waste the pineapple juice. I served it over rice. Loved it! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States