Spicy Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
This is a cake that will impress ! Lovely taste, with an amazing topping. Keeps well in the fridge. For non spice lovers try omitting the use of nutmeg, and using real vanilla in the frosting (insted of cinnamon and nutmeg).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
We really enjoyed this cake. It reminded me of the boxed cake mix "Snacking Cake" from long ago. My husband said to make sure I included this in my cookbook. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Negaunee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was really dense and moist and so tasty. I used 3 big apples in the cake and used fresh grated nutmeg and it tasted really spicy. For the icing I just used a nutmeg/cinnamon/powdered sugar and milk mixture instead of the thicker frosting, and it tasted really good anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This is fabulous. I made it as directed except I used slightly more than 2 cups of apples, I added some ground cloves, too, and I did not make the frosting. I don't think the cake needs it, and it would probably be too sweet for us. Instead, I made a cinnamon sugar mixture and sprinkled it on the cake before baking--it made a great crispy topping. The cake itself has a very light texture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Could not believe how quickly this got eaten. I was worried it might be too much spice, but even my kids loved it. I agree about the cake being sweet, and not needing glaze for that reason; but it's kind of plain looking without it--needs something on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Needed a quick dessert for some friends who decided to bring a pot luck dinner at the last minute. Quick, easy and delicious! Not a crumb left. Made exactly as written, using butter as the shortening and just a pinch of nutmeg since I don't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
My roommates and friends loved this recipe! I find getting tart apples really adds to the recipe. I also agree with some of the other reviewers in that I don't feel the icing is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. The cake is moist and delicious. The cinnamon frosting is the perfect topper. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Calvary, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Malone, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I substituted butter for shortening in the cake and it came out light, fluffy and scrumptious! I also substituted unsalted butter for shortening in the icing and half and half for eveaporated milk and it came out light and fluffy as well. It was a bit on the sweet side and made way too much to ice the cake with. I have a ton left over. Next time I think I'll only put 1 cup of sugar. My husband and I ate this with hot tea and it was perfect for a cold autumn night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
One word: YUMMY! I didn't make the icing this first time, and I don't think it even needs it! (I bet it's delicious with it too though). Will definitely be making this again. Oh, and I added chopped walnuts to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States