Spicy Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Really nice recipe! I added extra apples like some reviewers before me. I also added chopped almonds and almond extract which I HIGHLY reccomend! Very tasty! My only complaint was that once I got the icing on there, the combination was a little too sweet for me. I think I would cut back on the sugar in the cake it's self, as the icing was really yummy. I will deffinetly make this again. Thanks for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This is fabulous. I made it as directed except I used slightly more than 2 cups of apples, I added some ground cloves, too, and I did not make the frosting. I don't think the cake needs it, and it would probably be too sweet for us. Instead, I made a cinnamon sugar mixture and sprinkled it on the cake before baking--it made a great crispy topping. The cake itself has a very light texture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Great cake, great frosting. The cake is moist without being soggy or oil-saturated. Pleasantly autumn spiced with nice chunks of sweet apple (I used apples from our tree and I haven't a clue what they are - all I know is that they are sweet and hold their shape). The frosting was gorgeous. I generally have no problem using shortening in frostings, particularly if I need it to be pure white, but in this case I felt this frosting begged for butter. Since there was already a fair amount of nutmeg in the cake, I used apple pie spice instead of nutmeg in the frosting, as I'm not a fan of too much nutmeg. I beat the frosting a good long time, which made it luxuriously fluffy and smooth. Once frosted, I sprinkled it all over with freshly ground cinnamon/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
This is a cake that will impress ! Lovely taste, with an amazing topping. Keeps well in the fridge. For non spice lovers try omitting the use of nutmeg, and using real vanilla in the frosting (insted of cinnamon and nutmeg).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Loved this cake (and don't omit the frosting!). I mistakenly peeled too many apples, so I actually had 4 cups of chopped fruit. I baked in the 9x9 inch pan, but the additional fruit required me to bake this almost 60 minutes before the toothpick came out clean. Next time, I'll still double the fruit, but I'll bake in a 9 x 13 pan. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was really dense and moist and so tasty. I used 3 big apples in the cake and used fresh grated nutmeg and it tasted really spicy. For the icing I just used a nutmeg/cinnamon/powdered sugar and milk mixture instead of the thicker frosting, and it tasted really good anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
We really enjoyed this cake. We didn't think the frosting was necessary (we did try it & it was good). I'd serve it plain with some whipped cream on the side. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe. The cake is moist and delicious. The cinnamon frosting is the perfect topper. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Calvary, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Malone, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Well....I don't see what the big "tado" is about this cake! I've had numerous apple cakes that would put this one to shame. The nutmeg was way TOO much...and honestly I thought the cake was quite bland. I tasted it before I made the frosting, and decided not to waste the ingredients. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Needed a quick dessert for some friends who decided to bring a pot luck dinner at the last minute. Quick, easy and delicious! Not a crumb left. Made exactly as written, using butter as the shortening and just a pinch of nutmeg since I don't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States