Spicy Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This cake was easy enough to make and the powder sugar frosting made it go down that much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I had lots of apples so decided to try this out, had my mom and brother over for dinner and they loved it. I thought the icing might be a bit too much, but tried it and loved it with the spices! I made another one a few days later! I am making one for the guys at the hunting cabin. Hope I get some leftovers, but doubt it! :) I like trying new recipes and this is definitely a keeper! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This cake was a big hit with my picky husband. It was a great way to use apples after apple picking at the farm and makes the house smell so good while it's baking. The frosting is a bit sweet so I would use a lttle less next time and use leftover for sugar cookies, Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Loved this cake (and don't omit the frosting!). I mistakenly peeled too many apples, so I actually had 4 cups of chopped fruit. I baked in the 9x9 inch pan, but the additional fruit required me to bake this almost 60 minutes before the toothpick came out clean. Next time, I'll still double the fruit, but I'll bake in a 9 x 13 pan. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was a quick and easy cake to make. The taste reminded me of Fall in VT. The frosting was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I was hoping for more of a spice taste because of the name but didn't get that. Overall not bad, just next time I will double the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Will make this one again! (maybe for Thanksgiving dessert) I would prefer some more apple chunks in it, but that is just my preference. This cake is sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I didn't make the frosting, and I bet that would have added to this. Without it, the cake tasted like a boxed spice cake mix with apples added to it. It was a tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was really good. When making the cake, it seemed as though there were too many apples. I cut it down to a cup and a half. I wish I would have added the full two cups. The cake rises so much that the apples spread out. I made my own icing to cut down on the fat a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is really good. I added a little more apple because I like apples, and it turned out perfect. I just got a new oven which has cake bake setting. In that setting, it took about 55 minutes to cook through. It came out moist, just perfect amount of sweetness. Since I don't eat icing, I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States