Spicy Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
this was great!! one note, don't use a bundt pan. didn't work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
too dry for my family. didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Mmmm, this cake was so good. I made it exactly as directed except I used a different frosting only because I had some leftover from another cake. The next time I make this I will add one more cup of apples because more is better right?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Like others I increased the apples to 3 cups. It worked out that one apple made one cup when diced up so I used 3 apples. I also added ground cloves (a half teaspoon) to the batter. It took longer to cook than the recipe suggested (55 min), but that might be because of the extra apples. I also agree with other reviewers that the frosting is too sweet. I tried to make it less sweet (after I tasted the final product) by adding regular milk, but that didn't really work either. I ended up using 1/4 of the frosting I made just to put a thin layer on top to make it look nice without impacting the flavor too much. Next time I'll probably just sprinkle powdered sugar over the top for looks instead of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Delicious cake! Every time I make it, it gets rave reviews. I use cream cheese frosting instead. I live in Denver, so I'm still playing with the recipe so that it stays together, but it's otherwise a delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
So good! And easy to make! I ended up using 3 large granny smith apples and instead of the icing I made a cream cheese icing (with the same seasonings...added vanilla). It turned out perfect! I can't wait to make it this fall! Perfect for breakfast and dessert...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
The best apple cake I have ever made. Moist, light, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Well....I don't see what the big "tado" is about this cake! I've had numerous apple cakes that would put this one to shame. The nutmeg was way TOO much...and honestly I thought the cake was quite bland. I tasted it before I made the frosting, and decided not to waste the ingredients. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Great cake, great frosting. The cake is moist without being soggy or oil-saturated. Pleasantly autumn spiced with nice chunks of sweet apple (I used apples from our tree and I haven't a clue what they are - all I know is that they are sweet and hold their shape). The frosting was gorgeous. I generally have no problem using shortening in frostings, particularly if I need it to be pure white, but in this case I felt this frosting begged for butter. Since there was already a fair amount of nutmeg in the cake, I used apple pie spice instead of nutmeg in the frosting, as I'm not a fan of too much nutmeg. I beat the frosting a good long time, which made it luxuriously fluffy and smooth. Once frosted, I sprinkled it all over with freshly ground cinnamon/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States