Spicy Albondigas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this last night using ground turkey and made the meatballs smaller. two pounds of meat makes lots of balls!! I also added two potatoes diced pretty small and square, because I feed so many people it seemed a good way to stretch it out. My family loved this soup. I also had garnishes of tomato, green onion, avacado, cheese and diced jalapeno. A half a leftover bag of tortilla chips[kinda broken] and extra cilantro completed our meal.Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Jo Fire Eating Pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I thought this recipe was great. Easy to make, with plenty of fresh ingredients. I have eaten this dish at many restraunts but never attempted to make at home. This recipe had all flavor aspects I was looking for but I did add potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena Juarez

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is a great recipe. I used ground turkey instead of the beef and brown rice instead of white to make it a little bit healthier. You will need to add about 20 minutes to the simmer time to cook the brown rice thoroughly. Great, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We love to add chayote squash and whatever veggies we have in the fridge... cabbage, broccoli , bell pepper for example. A potato is nice too. This is a very versatile recipe, Try squeezing lemon into your bowl just before you eat, Wow! You might consider using a lower fat ground beef, or cook it early without the vegetables and chill-remove fat; reheat and add veggies, simmering until done. A favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Holy cow! Spicy, full of flavor, very satisfying and great for a cold winter night. I made 3 changes to mine... a tsp of minced garlic to the soup, 1/2 tsp of crushed pepper to the meat mix as well as 1/2 a minced onion to the meat mix. I've had this dish while living in Mexico and this recipe is way better than what I had. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Fackrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bisbee, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stuphsstuff
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
i used 1/2 chicken broth, 1/2 beef because that's what i had. crushed tomatoes and fresh serrano peppers (about 5) instead of the canned ones, rice in the soup and not in the meatballs, 4 garlic cloves instead of the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stuphsstuff
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I'm kind of on the fence about how to rate this one. The broth is fantastic, but I wasn't a fan of the meatballs. For the soup I used roasted poblanos instead of the canned chiles, added chopped kale and some dried thyme and parsley. Even though I halved the recipe I still added the entire can of diced tomatoes and a few TBS of tomato paste instead of sauce. I did not change the meatballs except for using the entire egg even though I halved the recipe. They held together fine. Next time I will add black pepper, parmesan, oregano and a LOT more garlic to the meatballs. That should make me happy. I need to get in the habit of frying up a small sample of meatball/meatloaf mix to test for seasoning before completing a recipe. I had used 85/15 ground beef and that resulted in pretty oily broth. I'll use a much leaner ground meat next time. Also, I don't understand why the meatballs need to be completely cooked through all on their own in the broth before adding the veggies. Maybe it gives the meatballs more time to acquire the broth flavors?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was so good. It was very heary and flavorful. My entire family enjoyed it. I was in a hurry so I put the veggies in not long after dding the meatballs. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
The taste of this soup is phenomenal- next time I will use a lower fat ground beef (maybe ground chicken?) as there was a lot of fat floating on the top of the broth. Also I think I will also use 1/2 cup bread crumbs as some of the meatballs broke apart as they cooked. I will make this again-maybe add some sliced zucchini or baby spinach at the end to up the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by LadyRae
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was the first albondigas recipe I have ever tried and I enjoyed it very much! I used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder though, and garnished it with some avocado, it looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States