Spicy Albondigas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This recipe is amazing. I added potatoes to make the broth a little thicker. I also use ground turkey. The turkey takes the flavor in a little bit better than the ground beef. All my friends and family can't stop raving about this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very very good hearty soup. Goes great with the homesteader cornbread recipe on here. Didn't change a thing and everyone kept talking about how good it was. Ued 90/10 ground beef and I didn't think it was too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
the meatballs make it a little greasy, so used the leanest ground beef i could find, the 93/7, other than that my family loves it, my kids always ask for "the meatball soup" now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Can you say Yum? I made this pretty much as the recipe is written with the exception of adding a can of yellow corn and a can of black beans. We garnished it with a squeeze of lime and some shredded sharp cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream. Very tastey and satisfying soup that eats like a meal. Glad I made the full 10 servings. This will be great for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I made these today and loved them! This is the first time I made albondigas and they came out great. I did use tomato paste instead of the recomended tomato sauce cause that's all i had and it came out a bit tick so next time i will use the sauce. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We love to add chayote squash and whatever veggies we have in the fridge... cabbage, broccoli , bell pepper for example. A potato is nice too. This is a very versatile recipe, Try squeezing lemon into your bowl just before you eat, Wow! You might consider using a lower fat ground beef, or cook it early without the vegetables and chill-remove fat; reheat and add veggies, simmering until done. A favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Holy cow! Spicy, full of flavor, very satisfying and great for a cold winter night. I made 3 changes to mine... a tsp of minced garlic to the soup, 1/2 tsp of crushed pepper to the meat mix as well as 1/2 a minced onion to the meat mix. I've had this dish while living in Mexico and this recipe is way better than what I had. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Fackrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bisbee, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I have made this 3 times already and I cannot say enough how good this recipe is! I normally just buy the meatballs since I'm lazy, but everything else is fantastic. EDIT: Another note that is really important is to add the cilantro last, or about 3 minutes before serving. If you put it in too soon, it will lose all of it's flavor, and kind of adds nothing to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinpatch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I'm kind of on the fence about how to rate this one. The broth is fantastic, but I wasn't a fan of the meatballs. For the soup I used roasted poblanos instead of the canned chiles, added chopped kale and some dried thyme and parsley. Even though I halved the recipe I still added the entire can of diced tomatoes and a few TBS of tomato paste instead of sauce. I did not change the meatballs except for using the entire egg even though I halved the recipe. They held together fine. Next time I will add black pepper, parmesan, oregano and a LOT more garlic to the meatballs. That should make me happy. I need to get in the habit of frying up a small sample of meatball/meatloaf mix to test for seasoning before completing a recipe. I had used 85/15 ground beef and that resulted in pretty oily broth. I'll use a much leaner ground meat next time. Also, I don't understand why the meatballs need to be completely cooked through all on their own in the broth before adding the veggies. Maybe it gives the meatballs more time to acquire the broth flavors?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Wonderful, wonderful soup for a cold and chilly football Sunday. I followed the recipe ingredients exactly with a few spicy exceptions. I added some Penzey's bold taco spice and a little onion and fresh cilantro to the meatball mix, and added some more taco seasoning, white pepper, garlic, and italian blend to the soup. I also added a couple of extra cups of chicken broth since I was using 32 OZ cubes and felt the need to "use up". This soup was delicious and very flavorful, raves by all who enjoyed! Thanks for a great recipe, Punky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States