Spicy Albondigas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Really hearty and tasty. I kept everything the same and just dumped the can of chilis and tomatoes in with the liquid. I added a couple of potatoes just because one of my kids wont eat carrots or celery and I wanted him to have more than meatballs and broth. I had no trouble with the meatballs holding together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I have made this several times. I like to use 1 lb burger and 1 lb pork sausage. Everything else is as written, I buy the pre-sliced cabbage, carrots, radishes and fresh lime to top it off when I serve-Crunchy Fresh and So Yum-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was spot on for how I like it in restaurants. I made my meatballs a little bigger than I thought so next time I will remember to keep them on the smaller side. I added diced potatoes based on other reviewers and that only kicked it up as well. This is a good recipe and probably fits the bill for that restaurant flavor you might be looking for. Added benefit - this was SUPER EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I've made this many many times, probably about once a month. EXCELLENT recipe..No changes needed, but I have altered it when I didn't have something it calls for and it's still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The only thing I did differnet was instead of tomato sauce I used chili el pato sauce,gives a little more spice. I did add potatos to the soup and a little crushed red pepper to the meatball. All I can say is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Skipped the meatball making part of this recipe by subbing Aidells Chicken Teriyaki & Pineapple Meatballs from Costco. Otherwise, made as written except for adding the already cooked meatballs after all the other ingredients had been cooked for one hour. Simmered the soup with meatballs for 15 more minutes to blend the flavors. The spicy and smoky flavor of the chicken meatballs made this soup really delicious. Will make again!! Thank you, Punky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I have made this 3 times now and we love it. Wonderful flavor! We add potatoes and garnish with a squeeze of lime. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This was very good soup and easy, I did make some personal and ease changes. Added 4 cloves of crushed garlic to meatballs, used brown rice and simmered in 4 cups chicken broth. I throw out the chicken broth when done simmer to avoid the boiled meat scum and fat. Added full chopped onion, 2 cans of rotel, doubled celery and carrots and added another 4 cloves of fresh crushed garlic. Did not ave fresh cilantro, so used the stuff that comes in tubes - worked great! Froze leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Great recipe, thanks for sharing! It was a little too tomatoey for me, but that's just a personal preference... Next time I'll leave out the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I just need to add more diced tomatoes and more rice for my personal taste.... still amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States