Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Outstanding soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
My whole family loved this soup! I followed the directions as provided. The peanut butter really added a nice element to the taste. I might have added a little more sweet potato, but perhaps the ones I used weren't big enough. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Going into this, my thoughts were "yams, garlic, salsa, and peanut butter...what the heck?" But reviews were good and I wanted a recipe for sweet potatoes. Odd as the combination of ingredients sounded, it turned out to be delicious. I used ingredients exactly as suggested in the original recipe. After the first 15 minutes of simmering, I added zucchini and garbanzo beans for 15 mins, then pureed per advice of others, then added salsa, rice, and peanut butter. The consistency was a thick soup, otherwise it would have been more stew-like. Rich and filling, while still healthy. Highly recommend, even for those who are skeptical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Increased spices & stock to account for adding turnip and additional amounts of sweet potato/zucchini. Used a full can of diced tomatoes instead of salsa, which still worked great. Kept PB ratio the same. Also doubled the rice to yield a thicker, stew-like consistency. Would be excellent for cool fall evenings. Hearty and filling while still being vegetarian/vegan (depending upon your soup stock). We will definitely eat this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
After trying this I put it in my biweekly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Desfosses-Gast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Always a hit, always puréed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is a really good soup but I recommend making a few modifications, as it could turn out very bland otherwise. I used vegetable broth versus chicken so maybe that is why. First of all, for a pot of soup this big, you'll need about 3 tsp kosher salt (decrease if using table salt), and add black pepper too. Second, increase the garlic and cumin by about 3 times (3 cloves garlic; 1.5 tsp cumin); increase the salsa to your taste but I used about 1 and 1/4 C and could use more. I had fresh thyme rather than dried, not sure of the conversion of that but I used quite a bit - probably a tablespoon or more fresh thyme. You could even add another tablespoon of the peanut butter if you want a creamier texture and more peanut flavor (but I only used 2 TBSP per recipe). Finally, decrease the simmer time for more texture to your vegetables. I would say 10 minutes and 10 minutes, rather than 15 and 15 per recipe. To do 15 and 15 made the vegetables mush. All in all, the foundation for a great soup is there, the ingredients are good, but definitely needs these tweaks to make it more enjoyable (just my opinion). I will definitely make this again and thank you Colleen for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachward2614
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
love this recipe... definitely something different and tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
We really enjoyed this soup. I used a can of tomatoes w/ green chilies instead of salsa, added extra peanut butter, and some cayenne pepper/ground ginger for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We really enjoyed this! Had to make our own salsa since no jarred in the house (heirloom cherry tomatoes, onions and fresh jalapeno). We added a bit of chili pepper at the end, and then in our individual bowls some of us added Trader Joe's Jalapeno Hot Sauce. This is a nice, flexible soup that you can customize. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States