Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
This soup is terrific! I have made it several times and find it always turns out great, sometimes I don't have the beans, sometimes I'm missing zuchinni but it's always a hit! I keep it vegetarian by using water instead of chicken broth and sometimes add coriander and increase the cumin, and sometimes melt some cheddar on top. Mmmmm! Also I find it's a gorgeous soup when nice big chunky vegetables are used. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I don't usually go for veggie dishes, but this was very good. Other reviewers have trashed the appearance - but mine turned out very appetising. Since zucchini is hard to find in the far North, I used a frozen zucchini/summer squash mix crinkle-cut like carrots. My soup turned out a burnt-orange in color, bubbling with pretty yellow and green squash slices and chick peas. Oh yes, and 1/2 tsp. red curry powder complimented the other spices nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I used a leftover can of sweet potatoes, added more zucchini, omitted the rice and it worked well. It reminded me of an African Groundnut Soup I ate in Botswana. I think I'll make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This soup was fantastic! I excluded the rice and beans and was a little short on zucchini so I added celery instead. The flavour was just wonderful. Thanks - this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
My 11 year old son cooked this as his first almost unaided meal. He chose an African theme and made "African Curry" and "Mombasa Pumpkin Dessert" with it. He followed the recipe exactly except for the rice which it turned out I was short on and he used Vegan "No Chicken Broth". When I first tasted this soup it was not what I expected. Somehow I was expecting the super salty taste that we expect from Progresso and the like, this soup is more mild. After I took a couple of bites I was hooked. This is a delictabley flavorful soup. It is not all salt and broth, it lets the individual flavors of the ingriedents shine through. We used Medium Salsa, so the flavor was not really spicy, I think that is what threw me. It was truly wonderful though. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I was a little afraid of this recipe because the ingredients are a pretty funky mix, but it worked out great! It was yummy, and I used vegetable stock to make it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I loved this spicy soup. It is quick, healthy, and tasty; great for lunch or a light dinner. I will make it again! I modified the recipe by adding 1/2 cup of chopped celery, reducing the peanut butter to 1 tablespoon, and adding 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Great recipe. I added a little more garlic, ginger and cayenne. I'm sure it would have been great without the additions but we were in the mood for a little more intensity. For presentation I also sprinkled chopped peanuts on top. This recipe will go into our soup rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This was delicious! I was in the mood for a creamy soup, so after I simmered the sweet potatoes I added garbanzos and pureed it all, then added salsa, rice, and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Fantastic soup! Like a lot of the other reviewers, I used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian, and since neither my fiance or I like garbanzo beans, I substituted a smallish yellow squash, which complements the flavor of the yam very well. It is a little sloppy looking, so I used a masher to even out the consistency. A great vegetarian soup, I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States