Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2002
This wasn't too bad. My husband is very picky and he actually liked it. I also took the left overs to work and several people tried it and they liked it although one said it looked "nasty". My kids also didn't like it. I doubt I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
We really enjoyed this soup. I had leftover yams from Thanksgiving already mashed up. Mindful of the other review regarding appearance, I didn't add the chick peas or zuchinni. I also increased the cumin. Very satisfying. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I used a leftover can of sweet potatoes, added more zucchini, omitted the rice and it worked well. It reminded me of an African Groundnut Soup I ate in Botswana. I think I'll make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This soup was fantastic! I excluded the rice and beans and was a little short on zucchini so I added celery instead. The flavour was just wonderful. Thanks - this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
My 11 year old son cooked this as his first almost unaided meal. He chose an African theme and made "African Curry" and "Mombasa Pumpkin Dessert" with it. He followed the recipe exactly except for the rice which it turned out I was short on and he used Vegan "No Chicken Broth". When I first tasted this soup it was not what I expected. Somehow I was expecting the super salty taste that we expect from Progresso and the like, this soup is more mild. After I took a couple of bites I was hooked. This is a delictabley flavorful soup. It is not all salt and broth, it lets the individual flavors of the ingriedents shine through. We used Medium Salsa, so the flavor was not really spicy, I think that is what threw me. It was truly wonderful though. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Very fragrant, nutritious, inexpensive, easy-to-make soup. Because of the peanut taste, it is even a hit with kids, IF you can get them to try it. The only reason I don't give this dish 5 stars is because it has an unappealing, sloppy look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
This soup is terrific! I have made it several times and find it always turns out great, sometimes I don't have the beans, sometimes I'm missing zuchinni but it's always a hit! I keep it vegetarian by using water instead of chicken broth and sometimes add coriander and increase the cumin, and sometimes melt some cheddar on top. Mmmmm! Also I find it's a gorgeous soup when nice big chunky vegetables are used. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
What a great soup and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I was a little afraid of this recipe because the ingredients are a pretty funky mix, but it worked out great! It was yummy, and I used vegetable stock to make it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Good flavor, and works with Vegetable Bullion to make it vegetarian also. I also think that it looks a little unappetizing, but the taste is good, and it makes for good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States