Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Very nice. I made it with my 10 year old. We liked it very much and my son enjoyed having the rest of the family guess that peanut butter was the secret ingredient. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LimeGreenKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manning, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Excellent soup, though it didn't strike me as particularly spicy or African, save for the use of yams. Maybe "African-inspired?" But semantics aside, this was one worth sharing and making again. It's also delicious with the salsa left out -- I prefer it that way; one could always substitute ground cayenne pepper for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed making and eating this soup. I didn't have any zuccini, but I had some celery that needed to be used up so I added it at the beginning with the onions and sweet potatoes. This was only change I made to the recipe. The soup was deliscious, attractive, filling and healthy. I'll definitely make it again. It was as spicy as I was expecting (based on the name), but that's probably because I used medium salsa. My boyfriend thought it was amazing and said it was the best soup he'd had in a long time, maybe even ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Good. I used organic vegetable broth instead of chicken and also added curry powder. I think I would double the zucchini next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I had never made anything like this and was a little worried about it. I am so happy that I was adventurous because it was amazing. Very hearty and flavorful. It still tasted great when it came out of the freezer 1 month later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe. I puree this soup for my 18 month old son and he loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I think I put too much peanut butter in, which ruined it for me. I doubled it, and wished I hadn't. If I try it again I think I'll keep PB the same, get hot salsa instead of medium or add some hot sauce to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I left out the rice and doubled the cumin and thynme. Other than that, I followed the recipe just as written. I did not fine mine bad looking, but I think all that depends on how you cut your vegetables, etc. I left my onions and zucchini in big chunks and cut my potatoes up small. I would double the peanut butter next time - I was disappointed that I couldn't really taste it as is. This wasn't bad, but not great. I think African Peanut Soup on this site is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was a nice change! I added red peppers to the mix for some added color. Next time I make this I think I'll omit the rice, and serve it on the side, kind of like an African jambalaya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I inadvertantly omitted garbanzo beans--it was delicious without them. This recipe has become a winter favorite for our family (kids--something about peanut butter in soup makes them eat it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States