Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Pangolinsam
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Great, changed some things, but overall wonderful.. I would put in less peanut butter though.. it was too much in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pangolinsam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I love this recipe! I've made it a few times. I prefer to add another large sweet potato, a little extra onion, and at least 1/2 of a red bell pepper. My mom likes the 2T of peanut butter, but I find it a little strong, so I only use 1&1/2T. Medium salsa gives it the perfect amount of spice along with the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This delicious soup turned out very thick, almost more of a stew. Great flavor and easy to make. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Very nice. I made it with my 10 year old. We liked it very much and my son enjoyed having the rest of the family guess that peanut butter was the secret ingredient. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LimeGreenKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manning, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Excellent soup, though it didn't strike me as particularly spicy or African, save for the use of yams. Maybe "African-inspired?" But semantics aside, this was one worth sharing and making again. It's also delicious with the salsa left out -- I prefer it that way; one could always substitute ground cayenne pepper for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed making and eating this soup. I didn't have any zuccini, but I had some celery that needed to be used up so I added it at the beginning with the onions and sweet potatoes. This was only change I made to the recipe. The soup was deliscious, attractive, filling and healthy. I'll definitely make it again. It was as spicy as I was expecting (based on the name), but that's probably because I used medium salsa. My boyfriend thought it was amazing and said it was the best soup he'd had in a long time, maybe even ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Good. I used organic vegetable broth instead of chicken and also added curry powder. I think I would double the zucchini next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I had never made anything like this and was a little worried about it. I am so happy that I was adventurous because it was amazing. Very hearty and flavorful. It still tasted great when it came out of the freezer 1 month later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe. I puree this soup for my 18 month old son and he loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I think I put too much peanut butter in, which ruined it for me. I doubled it, and wished I hadn't. If I try it again I think I'll keep PB the same, get hot salsa instead of medium or add some hot sauce to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States