Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
used yogurt instead of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a fantastic soup! The ingredients mix seemed a bit odd to me, but they really worked well together. The only change I made was to add an extra tablespoon of peanut butter. It was good the day I made it, but absolutely delicious the next day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
A wonderful and unique recipe that wows every time I make it. The chopping of all the ingredients is a little time consuming, but cutting the veggies small makes the consistency more manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This soup is absolutely wonderful! I have made it a handful of times and everyone who has tried it, has been impressed. One of my friends who was apprehensive at first, since he "is not a big vegetable fan", loved it. He even wanted seconds! My roomate was jealous she didn't get any on that batch since we ate it all before she got home. The soup has a lot of flavor (especially the second day) and doesn't make my stomach feel heavy after I eat. I usually substitute the zucchini for mexican squash since I like the flavor better and the garbanzo beans for kidney beans. It's is good with jalapenos as well. I'm cooking some more right now for dinner :) I added tomatillos this time instead of jalapenos, so I can't wait to see how that turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was great...I made this without changes and really enjoyed it. Low in fat and healthy but very flavorful. I love the combination of the tomato and chiles from the salsa and the peanut butter. Easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Wish i could give this more than 5 stars. it was amazing. I have never had this. The only changes I made was using white beans instead of garbanzo. I used whole wheat orzo instead of cooked rice (orzo cooks in 5 minutes so it was perfect for this) I sauteed, chayote, onions, garlic, corn, with seasonings, then used only water, added real yam cut in smaller portions, 3 tlbs of peanut butter, and cooked for 45-50 minutes. It was a hit. I will make this often. Ty so much for the healthy and wonderful comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicago Cook Gurl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was a very comforting tasty soup/stew!! Thought because it was called spicy african YAM soup that it had Yam in it... so I added Yam and I added sweet potato... I wouldnt have done it any other way! they worked perfect together! Put extra crunchy peanut butter in it and omitted the thyme... thought that ingredient didnt fit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I served the salsa and peanut butter on the side since not everyone likes them. Son skipped both, but added cheese and bacon and ate 2 bowls claiming it a keeper. Spouse put peanut butter & Bacon, but no salsa and had 2 bowls. I added salsa, PB and bacon and, yep, had 2 bowls. I used Quinoa instead of rice, adding it the last 15 minutes of simmering and kidney beans instead of garbanzo because that's what I had. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I let DH rate this one and he gave it 4 stars (but went back for seconds)! I partially mashed the sweet potatoes and garbanzos with a potato masher and it ended up being a stew. I will make some changes in the spices next time as I thought the amount was too intense. If you're looking for some healthful vegetarian meals for a change.....this is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was fantastic. The only thing I changed was to add 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes and a dash of cayenne pepper. I also added just a bit more peanut butter. Delicious. This will be in heavy rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States