Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Did it today for a party and it's a big success. I did not put rice. Also there are people alergic to peanuts and some cannot take spicy food so I put aside some without sausa and peanut butter. People loves it too. Will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is a wonderful adventure in soup. I love the subtle combination of flavors. I have made this several time and I did tweak it a bit. I did not however omit any of the lovely seasonings. This soup seemed to scream for black beans, so I omitted the garbanzo beans and added two cans of rinsed black beans. I increased the cumin to taste and added an extra tablespoon of creamy peanut butter and an extra clove of minced garlic. I used medium hot salsa and omitted the rice and zucchini, which does not affect the overall flavor of this tasty soup. Just before adding peanut butter I used the emersion blender for a few whirls to puree but left some of the beans whole and various sized hunks of sweet potato. I just made another pot of this delightful soup and I think I will have dinner early tonight as my Spicy African Yam Soup is beckoning me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very tasty - but I used a hot salsa and it made the whole soup quite spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Very good! Doubled the recipe - only used 1 can of white beans and 3 Tbls of peanut butter and extra rice. Pertty versatile and it can be added or changed pretty easily. Tastes better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is one of my favorites. I have made a pot of it to take on Holiday visits. Impressive! I have it committed to memory and usually add a lot of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Stauffer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Needed more spice. After I added a Redhot, it was good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was a nice dish. I would omit spicy from the description. If you like a good heat, I would recommend adding a hot pepper. The textures were great, but the pb didn't add to much depth- I would lose the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was delicious! It tastes very authentic, only in Africa you would serve it over rice instead of adding the rice to the soup. I substituted some chopped broccoli for the zucchini because that's what I had on hand, but otherwise made it according to the recipe and am so glad I doubled it! I would highly recommend it! The ingredients are odd but they blend together marvelously! For my own taste, I added black pepper, and my husband added red pepper flakes, but it is a great base to adjust to individual tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
used yogurt instead of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a fantastic soup! The ingredients mix seemed a bit odd to me, but they really worked well together. The only change I made was to add an extra tablespoon of peanut butter. It was good the day I made it, but absolutely delicious the next day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States