Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Awesome with mango salsa! I like the peanut butter so much, I generally add a little more to the recipe, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarbits
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Love it! A great Cozy stay at home soup/stew! I used Yellow squash instead of zucchini. Used navy beans instead of chick peas. And Doubled the spices! Tastes great with a little sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbits

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Good recipe! I've made this a couple of times, each time following the spirit of the recipe, but not the letter. I wanted the flavors of this recipe, but a more stew-like consistency. Both times I have used more sweet potato and chickpeas, a little less broth, and no rice, and it still turned out delicious. I also add a bit of red wine vinegar and brown sugar, which gives it a bit more tang and sweetness. I'm sure I use lots more spice than the recipe called for--I don't use measuring spoons and season to taste. The first time I made it, I used zucchini, which was great, but the second time I didn't have zucchini around. Instead, I tossed in a bunch of pieces of kale at the very end and took the soup off the heat. The kale wilted and cooked a bit but still had body to it and wasn't all mush. This is a good substitution and I definitely recommend it for someone trying to mix this up a little (or, as in our case, use a bunch of kale we got from a CSA share).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong but I found this soup bland and unexciting. Maybe I should have used hot salsa? I'm surprised too because it seems to be so well rated.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I love this recipe and have made it many times as is. When I made it today I made a change. After the yam/onion/chicken stock mixture simmered for 15 minutes, I used a hand blender to puree the soup in the pot. I followed the rest of the directions as is. I really like the pureed texture of the soup base and will make it this way in the future. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Very nice flavour; full of healthy ingredients. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
We loved this. Very easy to make. I used turkey broth and substituted frozen green beans and frozen cauliflower for zucchini because that's what we had. Also tossed in 1 cup of leftover turkey but would have been fine without it. Will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was good. Strange, but I think my palate doesn't take well with thyme. There was a particular spice that seemed off to me in this, but otherwise, definitely adaptable recipe. Peanut butter provides a nice background. I added couscous instead of rice. I will likely try again, since my husband liked it and I always appreciate meatless dinner recipes, but I may use vegetable broth and cut the thyme. Or perhaps it was an ingredient in the salsa that put me off. As my husband says, if the soup is good today, it'll probably be fabulous tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This wasn't fantastic, but it wasn't bad. I left out the zucchini and rice, and pureed some of the soup before I added the chick peas. I like the texture more creamy, rather than a broth based soup with stuff in it. Not bad, but not something I'd soon make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Very tasty soup. I used pineapple salsa from Trader Joe's and field peas and snaps instead of the chickpeas after realizing I didn't have any in the cabinet. Also added green peppers and mushrooms. Used a touch of salt, some curry powder, paprika and an organic Mexican spice blend. Tasted great. Even my very picky step-dad really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States