Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I was somewhat reluctant to try this one but the hubby loves soup so I gave it a shot. It was so delicious! I followed the recipe as written. The favors came together wonderfully to create a tasty and unique soup for cool winter evenings - thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I'd give this 5 stars for taste but three stars for appearance, so I've averaged it out to 4 stars. I would definitely make it again but I would puree the sweet potatoes, onion, garlic, salsa, and zucchini. Then, I would add the garbanzo beans (you could even dry roast them with some cayenne pepper for additional flavor) and leave out the rice entirely. As written, this comes out more as a stew than a soup (delicious stew, but still). Initially this combo of flavors doesn't look very good but it really does taste fantastic. All you really have to do to make it vegetarian is use veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by keli
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Very good and easy to make! Followed recipe as written for most part, used homemade chicken broth, chunky organic peanut butter, brown rice, doubled thyme and cumin, and added pickled jalapeño pepper for spice. Salt to taste! Soup pretty with Irish colors so served on St Paddy's Day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Outstanding soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
My whole family loved this soup! I followed the directions as provided. The peanut butter really added a nice element to the taste. I might have added a little more sweet potato, but perhaps the ones I used weren't big enough. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Going into this, my thoughts were "yams, garlic, salsa, and peanut butter...what the heck?" But reviews were good and I wanted a recipe for sweet potatoes. Odd as the combination of ingredients sounded, it turned out to be delicious. I used ingredients exactly as suggested in the original recipe. After the first 15 minutes of simmering, I added zucchini and garbanzo beans for 15 mins, then pureed per advice of others, then added salsa, rice, and peanut butter. The consistency was a thick soup, otherwise it would have been more stew-like. Rich and filling, while still healthy. Highly recommend, even for those who are skeptical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Increased spices & stock to account for adding turnip and additional amounts of sweet potato/zucchini. Used a full can of diced tomatoes instead of salsa, which still worked great. Kept PB ratio the same. Also doubled the rice to yield a thicker, stew-like consistency. Would be excellent for cool fall evenings. Hearty and filling while still being vegetarian/vegan (depending upon your soup stock). We will definitely eat this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
After trying this I put it in my biweekly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Desfosses-Gast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Always a hit, always puréed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is a really good soup but I recommend making a few modifications, as it could turn out very bland otherwise. I used vegetable broth versus chicken so maybe that is why. First of all, for a pot of soup this big, you'll need about 3 tsp kosher salt (decrease if using table salt), and add black pepper too. Second, increase the garlic and cumin by about 3 times (3 cloves garlic; 1.5 tsp cumin); increase the salsa to your taste but I used about 1 and 1/4 C and could use more. I had fresh thyme rather than dried, not sure of the conversion of that but I used quite a bit - probably a tablespoon or more fresh thyme. You could even add another tablespoon of the peanut butter if you want a creamier texture and more peanut flavor (but I only used 2 TBSP per recipe). Finally, decrease the simmer time for more texture to your vegetables. I would say 10 minutes and 10 minutes, rather than 15 and 15 per recipe. To do 15 and 15 made the vegetables mush. All in all, the foundation for a great soup is there, the ingredients are good, but definitely needs these tweaks to make it more enjoyable (just my opinion). I will definitely make this again and thank you Colleen for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States