Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
after tinkering with this recipe, i ended up with more of a stew than a soup (although the recipe as submitted is pretty darn good!). i prefer a fuller stew. i added almost a full cup of crunchy peanut butter (for a nicely added crunch and to make it creamier), substituted the cumin for curry. I also added a minced jalapeno pepper along with a full jar of hot chunky salsa. i omitted the rice and added chopped chicken. I had some red peppers, so i chopped them up and threw them in. yum! even my daughter, who is not a big veggie lover, really enjoys this recipe! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I used a leftover can of sweet potatoes, added more zucchini, omitted the rice and it worked well. It reminded me of an African Groundnut Soup I ate in Botswana. I think I'll make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Sooo good!! I pureed the soup like some of the other reviewers did, and then added the peanut butter, rice, and salsa. I think the presentation is very nice that way. Also added a couple shakes each of ginger and paprika. It's great that such a rich tasting soup can be so healthy! We'll definitely be having this one on a regular basis. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
My 11 year old son cooked this as his first almost unaided meal. He chose an African theme and made "African Curry" and "Mombasa Pumpkin Dessert" with it. He followed the recipe exactly except for the rice which it turned out I was short on and he used Vegan "No Chicken Broth". When I first tasted this soup it was not what I expected. Somehow I was expecting the super salty taste that we expect from Progresso and the like, this soup is more mild. After I took a couple of bites I was hooked. This is a delictabley flavorful soup. It is not all salt and broth, it lets the individual flavors of the ingriedents shine through. We used Medium Salsa, so the flavor was not really spicy, I think that is what threw me. It was truly wonderful though. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Awesome, healthy dish! My husband had a bad dish many years ago with peanut butter in it and has avoided it ever since. He could not rave enough about this soup! I rarely ever saute ingredients first, so did not this time. We used brown rice, substituted another white bean for the garbanzo, otherwise followed recipe. Unusual and very good! will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This was delicious! I was in the mood for a creamy soup, so after I simmered the sweet potatoes I added garbanzos and pureed it all, then added salsa, rice, and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
This soup is terrific! I have made it several times and find it always turns out great, sometimes I don't have the beans, sometimes I'm missing zuchinni but it's always a hit! I keep it vegetarian by using water instead of chicken broth and sometimes add coriander and increase the cumin, and sometimes melt some cheddar on top. Mmmmm! Also I find it's a gorgeous soup when nice big chunky vegetables are used. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
AMAZING! Made this last night and am eating it today for lunch. Some minor changes: did 2 cloves of garlic, 2 cups broth/2 cups water, did curry instead of thyme, added 3 stalks of celery which I actually love in this soup for the texture. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This soup was fantastic! I excluded the rice and beans and was a little short on zucchini so I added celery instead. The flavour was just wonderful. Thanks - this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have to say that I wasn't sure about this recipe just looking at the ingredient list. But, I had some sweet potatoes that needed to be used and was up for something a little different...Wow, am I glad I tried it! This was delicious. My husband turned up his nose at the idea of the peanut butter, but when he tried it, he was amazed. My dad and my brother were over, and they loved, loved, loved it. (Even my dad who is very "meat and potatoes" kind of guy who usually doesn't like any kind of unusual food!) Very good. I made a double batch, and I'm glad because now there's leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States