Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this just as specified and it is incredible!! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I played with the balance of ingredients to get it to my liking, but loved the combination of flavors. I used 4 small yams, added a can of stewed Italian tomatoes and some Castillo habanero hot sauce in place of the salsa, brown rice, extra garlic and some salt and coriander. I also garnished the dish with some peanuts which added a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lelena109
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Interesting AND good!! I'm on my second bowl right now! I forgot to dice the sweet potato and did small cubes instead. Probably would have liked it a little more if I had diced them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have to say that I wasn't sure about this recipe just looking at the ingredient list. But, I had some sweet potatoes that needed to be used and was up for something a little different...Wow, am I glad I tried it! This was delicious. My husband turned up his nose at the idea of the peanut butter, but when he tried it, he was amazed. My dad and my brother were over, and they loved, loved, loved it. (Even my dad who is very "meat and potatoes" kind of guy who usually doesn't like any kind of unusual food!) Very good. I made a double batch, and I'm glad because now there's leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was amazing! I didn't have chicken broth so I used beef broth, and put in corn instead of zucchini. I will definitely be making this again and again, it tastes so good and is really not very much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
AMAZING! Made this last night and am eating it today for lunch. Some minor changes: did 2 cloves of garlic, 2 cups broth/2 cups water, did curry instead of thyme, added 3 stalks of celery which I actually love in this soup for the texture. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This soup is outstanding! The flavors all meld together to tantilize the palet! I used a can of rotel as well and increased the spices. Fabulous. My new favorite soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Fantastic! There is a request for me to make this soup on a regular basis in my home. I usually add more zucchini and peanut butter than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
our familiy's favorit meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Absolutely great. Didn't have chickpeas or salsa, added some celeri... added chilli pepper flakes and extra cumin. The mixture of spices and peanut butter was different and really good. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by askafriend

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States