Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was very good. I decided to puree the soup prior to adding the rice and salsa, though next time I do not think I would add the rice as I don't think it added much to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I would give this 15 stars if I could. THE BEST SOUP I think I've ever tasted. My husband completely agreed and wants me to cook up 2-3 more batches to freeze!... I made my own salsa & added 1/2 tsp curry to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I did increase to 4T of peanut butter to add some extra protein and creaminess, but that's the only change I made. My husband is not a fan of yams/sweet potatoes, however he gobbled this up, as did our 2.5 year old. I did not find it spicy at all, but we are used to pretty spicy foods so I suppose it's all relative. Thanks for sharing, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Gizz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
WOW! I thought this would be an okay soup. This is now among my top 3 favorites of all time. The only change for me was 1t cumin instead of a half. Don't be deterred by the ingredients list. They combine beautifully. Now, if I can make it through the evening and not eat the whole pot myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this just as specified and it is incredible!! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I played with the balance of ingredients to get it to my liking, but loved the combination of flavors. I used 4 small yams, added a can of stewed Italian tomatoes and some Castillo habanero hot sauce in place of the salsa, brown rice, extra garlic and some salt and coriander. I also garnished the dish with some peanuts which added a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lelena109
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Interesting AND good!! I'm on my second bowl right now! I forgot to dice the sweet potato and did small cubes instead. Probably would have liked it a little more if I had diced them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have to say that I wasn't sure about this recipe just looking at the ingredient list. But, I had some sweet potatoes that needed to be used and was up for something a little different...Wow, am I glad I tried it! This was delicious. My husband turned up his nose at the idea of the peanut butter, but when he tried it, he was amazed. My dad and my brother were over, and they loved, loved, loved it. (Even my dad who is very "meat and potatoes" kind of guy who usually doesn't like any kind of unusual food!) Very good. I made a double batch, and I'm glad because now there's leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was amazing! I didn't have chicken broth so I used beef broth, and put in corn instead of zucchini. I will definitely be making this again and again, it tastes so good and is really not very much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
AMAZING! Made this last night and am eating it today for lunch. Some minor changes: did 2 cloves of garlic, 2 cups broth/2 cups water, did curry instead of thyme, added 3 stalks of celery which I actually love in this soup for the texture. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States