Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This soup is delicious... i doubled it and made it as written. Super good healthy soup, especially when it's -30 outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was very easy to make and very tasty! I doubled the recipe, omitted the zucchini, and substituted quinoa instead of rice. I recommend using a hot salsa to ensure there's enough of a kick to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this soup and added a habanero pepper and it was so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was very good. I decided to puree the soup prior to adding the rice and salsa, though next time I do not think I would add the rice as I don't think it added much to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I would give this 15 stars if I could. THE BEST SOUP I think I've ever tasted. My husband completely agreed and wants me to cook up 2-3 more batches to freeze!... I made my own salsa & added 1/2 tsp curry to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I did increase to 4T of peanut butter to add some extra protein and creaminess, but that's the only change I made. My husband is not a fan of yams/sweet potatoes, however he gobbled this up, as did our 2.5 year old. I did not find it spicy at all, but we are used to pretty spicy foods so I suppose it's all relative. Thanks for sharing, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Gizz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
WOW! I thought this would be an okay soup. This is now among my top 3 favorites of all time. The only change for me was 1t cumin instead of a half. Don't be deterred by the ingredients list. They combine beautifully. Now, if I can make it through the evening and not eat the whole pot myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this just as specified and it is incredible!! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I played with the balance of ingredients to get it to my liking, but loved the combination of flavors. I used 4 small yams, added a can of stewed Italian tomatoes and some Castillo habanero hot sauce in place of the salsa, brown rice, extra garlic and some salt and coriander. I also garnished the dish with some peanuts which added a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lelena109
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Interesting AND good!! I'm on my second bowl right now! I forgot to dice the sweet potato and did small cubes instead. Probably would have liked it a little more if I had diced them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States