Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I omitted the zucchini. I "skinned" the garbanzo beans . It takes longer to make this way, but I like not having the translucent skins floating around in my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RI convert

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Liked this recipe very much. Followed it fairly closely but made a few small changes. Left out the rice (only because I didn't have any on hand) and pureed about a quarter of the sweet potates in the broth. This will definitely go into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Yum! This was great for several meals in a row, and it used up some extra salsa I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great soup! I can't wait to use this when I start my diet---it's like a fancy vegetable soup with so much more depth! I followed the recipe exactly except I used cannellini beans instead of garbanzo beans and hot picante' sauce ( instead of salsa) because that was all I had. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I was really skeptical when my boyfriend said he wanted to try this for a holiday dinner party. Salsa and peanut butter? Weird. But it was the hit of the party -- even one of our picky eaters (age 12) liked it. Everyone had seconds. We used brown rice and Green Mountain medium salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
WHOA! This was something else. I had no zucchini, but I did toss in some asparagus that I needed to use up. Really satisfying for a meatless soup. I confess, I tossed in some chopped up leftover chicken, too ;) Outstanding. Make it again. And, again. And.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I have been making this soup regularly for almost a year now. This soup has a great blend of flavors, all of which come through individually. I make no modifications at all except to use a corn and black bean salsa and add a little cayenne pepper for some zing. Wonderful, healthy soup my entire family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This soup is delicious... i doubled it and made it as written. Super good healthy soup, especially when it's -30 outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was very easy to make and very tasty! I doubled the recipe, omitted the zucchini, and substituted quinoa instead of rice. I recommend using a hot salsa to ensure there's enough of a kick to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this soup and added a habanero pepper and it was so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States