Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I made this as written, and like the flavors. I would not call it spicy, and I am adding salt in my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made this soup a few months ago and now I crave it!!! The only change I made was using a yam instead of a sweet potato. This is one of my favorites from Allrecipes. Exquisite, delicious and wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I didn't make any changes and it was great! We have somebody who doesn't like soup in the family and even he loved it! I was originally unsure about the ingredients but they work together surprisingly well. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Fantastic base recipe. Here are the changes I made to make the soup more to my taste Omit Zucchini. Instead of Salsa, I use whole canned tomatoes and 2 seeded/diced scotch bonnet peppers. Instead of cooked white rice, I add 1/3 cup dry Cambodian red rice at the start and after simmering for 45 minutes, it will be cooked. I cut the sweet potato in alternative sized pieces, so the smallest will disintegrate into the soup base, while the larger pieces remain solid but soft after cooking. I frequently make double batches of this for lunches. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is a good soup, but the peanut butter overshadows all the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I LOVE this soup! I've made it three times since I found it a few weeks ago. I followed the recipe exactly with excellent results. I've even thrown in some cooked turkey breast and it was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I omitted the zucchini. I "skinned" the garbanzo beans . It takes longer to make this way, but I like not having the translucent skins floating around in my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RI convert

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Liked this recipe very much. Followed it fairly closely but made a few small changes. Left out the rice (only because I didn't have any on hand) and pureed about a quarter of the sweet potates in the broth. This will definitely go into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Yum! This was great for several meals in a row, and it used up some extra salsa I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great soup! I can't wait to use this when I start my diet---it's like a fancy vegetable soup with so much more depth! I followed the recipe exactly except I used cannellini beans instead of garbanzo beans and hot picante' sauce ( instead of salsa) because that was all I had. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States