Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is delicious and a great alternative to beef or chicken soup! I think it would benefit from more peanut butter--about a 1/2 cup--and around a 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
YUM! I was a little skeptical, as I often don't like peanut sauces, however the review were so positive that I gave this recipe a try. I am so glad that I did, and my husband and I both agree that this recipe is going to a staple be in our weekly soup rotation. My husband actually said that this may be his favorite soup I have ever made! I followed the directions, except I cut my veggies in large chunks, and I didn't need to simmer as long as stated for my potatoes and zucchini to be fully cooked--probably 20 minutes total of simmering. Thanks for a healthy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Really liked this recipe, although definitely skeptical at the beginning. I swapped out yams for sweet potatoes (I did a few and pureed about half before adding in zucchini...I also added in more zucchini and a few shredded carrots), added in fresh tomatoes, extra garlic, onion and green chilies instead of salsa and used a homemade pork stock instead of chicken broth. I used a natural peanut butter and also added in S&P and red pepper flakes for more heat. I omitted the rice. Before serving, I squeezed fresh lime on top, to brighten it up...really yummy! I might top with fresh parsley or maybe even cilantro the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I chose this recipe simply because it was the first yam recipe that came up and didn't require too many ingredients. This soup is really good! Not something I would want to eat every week, but a great late summer/early harvest soup. I did fiddle with the ingredients (I know, I know, why I am reviewing this recipe then?). I used great northern beans instead of chickpeas, half cup of pb, extra half cup salsa, four cloves garlic, more yams and zucchini then called for. Because of the increase in yams and zucchini I added an extra cup of water. I don't think this soup is "hot", but it does taste spicy as in spices (which I think is a good thing). Really yummy, I'll be stashing some leftovers in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
My family really enjoyed this soup/stew! I added about a pound of beef stew meat while browning the onions and left out the garbanzo beans. I also left out the thyme and replaced it with 1/2 tsp. marjoram. Thyme can be a little overpowering for my taste buds. I used chunky peanut butter and I loved having the crunch of the peanuts throughout. I used medium salsa and it wasn't too spicy for the kids. I put a dash of cayenne pepper in my bowl to make it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I have a favorite African soup recipe and was determined that this recipe would not measure up. Boy, could I have been more wrong! It’s now a coin flip between the two. I don't know how many times I've said this, but nothing amazes me more than how well peanut butter blends with vegetable soups. It's a combination worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Wow! This is absolutely delicious!! Thanks for the recipe...we enjoy it just the way it is :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
What an easy and incredibly delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I think the trick to making this soup is to make it the day before and refrigerate it to let the flavour meld. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except for adding some seasoning salt to taste and everyone raved about it. All leftovers were requested. Big success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
so good. Thought the peanut butter would be weird but it's awesome. Reminds me a bit of stuff I had in Haiti, which makes some sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States