Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Wow! This is absolutely delicious! My partner hates yams but agreed to "taste" mine and loved it so much that we ended up making another pot and eating all of it!! We used a can of stewed tomatoes instead of salsa and used a wild rice medley that we added uncooked and allowed it to soak up the flavor of the soup. Tha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This soup is amazing! The only change I make is I blend the sweet potatoes and stock in the blender after they are cooked and then add in the goodies. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Simple with readily available ingredients, but my hubby said that "Spicy" in the title is a misnomer. I think you either have to use a hot salsa (I used mild) or add some red pepper flake. Either way I enjoyed and is a fun change of pace on a chilly day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Awesome with mango salsa! I like the peanut butter so much, I generally add a little more to the recipe, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarbits
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Love it! A great Cozy stay at home soup/stew! I used Yellow squash instead of zucchini. Used navy beans instead of chick peas. And Doubled the spices! Tastes great with a little sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbits

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Good recipe! I've made this a couple of times, each time following the spirit of the recipe, but not the letter. I wanted the flavors of this recipe, but a more stew-like consistency. Both times I have used more sweet potato and chickpeas, a little less broth, and no rice, and it still turned out delicious. I also add a bit of red wine vinegar and brown sugar, which gives it a bit more tang and sweetness. I'm sure I use lots more spice than the recipe called for--I don't use measuring spoons and season to taste. The first time I made it, I used zucchini, which was great, but the second time I didn't have zucchini around. Instead, I tossed in a bunch of pieces of kale at the very end and took the soup off the heat. The kale wilted and cooked a bit but still had body to it and wasn't all mush. This is a good substitution and I definitely recommend it for someone trying to mix this up a little (or, as in our case, use a bunch of kale we got from a CSA share).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong but I found this soup bland and unexciting. Maybe I should have used hot salsa? I'm surprised too because it seems to be so well rated.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I love this recipe and have made it many times as is. When I made it today I made a change. After the yam/onion/chicken stock mixture simmered for 15 minutes, I used a hand blender to puree the soup in the pot. I followed the rest of the directions as is. I really like the pureed texture of the soup base and will make it this way in the future. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Very nice flavour; full of healthy ingredients. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
We loved this. Very easy to make. I used turkey broth and substituted frozen green beans and frozen cauliflower for zucchini because that's what we had. Also tossed in 1 cup of leftover turkey but would have been fine without it. Will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States