Spicy African Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I left out the rice and doubled the cumin and thynme. Other than that, I followed the recipe just as written. I did not fine mine bad looking, but I think all that depends on how you cut your vegetables, etc. I left my onions and zucchini in big chunks and cut my potatoes up small. I would double the peanut butter next time - I was disappointed that I couldn't really taste it as is. This wasn't bad, but not great. I think African Peanut Soup on this site is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was a nice change! I added red peppers to the mix for some added color. Next time I make this I think I'll omit the rice, and serve it on the side, kind of like an African jambalaya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I inadvertantly omitted garbanzo beans--it was delicious without them. This recipe has become a winter favorite for our family (kids--something about peanut butter in soup makes them eat it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
this soup is excellent as is! but... there's always room for experiments!! this is great with leftover rice thrown in too or served with crunchy tortilla strips. my kids are fussy if they see what's in the soup so i pureed it into a nice thick chowder. served with a dollop of sour cream and a squeeze of lime. AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I was intrigued by the peanut butter in this soup and must say I was very impressed! I love this dish and will gladly prepare it again. We have even dehydrated a portion so we can enjoy it on a backpacking trip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Excellent and so easy to throw together. I used black beans in exchange for garbanzo beans and crunchy peanut butter instead of smooth - the nuts were a great addition. Since I'm vegetarian, I used veggie broth instead of chicken and thickened it up by using my hand held blender. Fantastic soup! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Wow! This is absolutely delicious! My partner hates yams but agreed to "taste" mine and loved it so much that we ended up making another pot and eating all of it!! We used a can of stewed tomatoes instead of salsa and used a wild rice medley that we added uncooked and allowed it to soak up the flavor of the soup. Tha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This soup is amazing! The only change I make is I blend the sweet potatoes and stock in the blender after they are cooked and then add in the goodies. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Simple with readily available ingredients, but my hubby said that "Spicy" in the title is a misnomer. I think you either have to use a hot salsa (I used mild) or add some red pepper flake. Either way I enjoyed and is a fun change of pace on a chilly day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Awesome with mango salsa! I like the peanut butter so much, I generally add a little more to the recipe, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States