Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Superb texture and flavor! The tang imparted by the yogurt is the perfect foil for the spices. I've made this twice now. As written, it needed a bit of tweaking. So this time, which was far more successful than when I followed the recipe verbatim, I added 1/2 tsp baking powder to lighten it, 1-1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp freshly ground nutmeg, 1 tsp allspice, 3/4 tsp ground cloves, 1/4 tsp mace, as flavor was a bit pale the first time. Baked it in a greased and floured bundt pan for one hour at 350. Also, I agree with previous poster not to "beat for 2 minutes" after adding the flour. This will encourage excessive gluten development, which will result in a tough product. All the beating should be in the creaming process, with the sugar/butter/egg mixture. After that, once dry ingredients have been added, only a minimum of gentle mixing (on the lowest speed) is necessary, only to incorporate the dry ingredients fully. If you follow these steps, your pound cake will be dense yet tender, with a crumb that's moist yet fully baked. The aroma as it bakes is delightful, and the cake is irresistible. Finished with a glaze made from 1Tb soft butter, 1-1/2 cup powdered sugar, and 1 Tb milk drizzled on the warm cake. No trouble removing from the generously greased and floured pan, when done 15 minutes after removal from the oven. A recipe to be handed down to following generations in your family - it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Geat recipe!!!! I subbed 1 cup sugar for splenda, applesauce for the butter, and egge beaers for the eggs. I bumped up the leavening to 1 tsp each of baking powder and backing soda. I also increased the level of spices. To add a fruity fall flavor, I sliced 5 small tart apples and mixed them with a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and brown sugar. I heavily lined the bottom of two loaf pans with the apples and poured the batter on top. This turned out amazing!!!!!!! Bake for 45-50 min and then let sit in the oven while it cools to prevent the cake from falling. This tastes great alone, or served warm with whipped cream or light vanilla ice cream, what a great low fat treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
Super easy! No sifting dry ingredients and then making a well, etc.... Just mix and bake! I baked it in a bundt pan for 55 minutes. Like most pound cakes, it's better the next day. Moist, great spicy flavor, but not overpowering! Thanks for sharing the recipe!! Perfect autumn cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
OMG.. This is sooo good! I made it in a bundt pan so it would have a pretty shape to it, I needed to bake it about 50 minutes total. This cake needs nothing, you can eat it as is. I will definetly make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This is a fabulous recipe! Very moist, very flavorful, very easy and it makes the whole house smell terrific. My advice: DON'T try it in a bundt pan as it ends up "falling" after it comes out of the oven, giving it poor presentation value! Follow the recipe and use a 9x13. Finally, if you want to avoid producing too much gluten in the flour (a tough/chewy end product) beat the sugar/eggs/butter on high for 3-5 minutes then add the remaining ingredients and mix only until blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I made this as a bundt cake. It was great but I wish I had not taken the advice of another reviewer and added 3/4 tsp cloves. The cloves were a bit overpowering and it was just too much spice. I think adding a vanilla glaze made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenaGayle Jack Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Wonderful tasting cake. Great with whipped cream!I made it a low fat low sugar version to make it a little more healthy. I used reduced fat margarine, 1.5 cups splenda and .5 cup sugar, and fat free vanilla yogurt. My family didn't even know I altered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYFIT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is so quick and easy! I cut the recipe in half and made it a loaf. For a glaze, I used sugar, butter, milk and triple sec - a nice compliment to the spice! Thanks for a simple, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I have a phobia for cakes that are overly sweet, so everytime I get a recipe, I always reduce the amount of sugar. At first I didn't want to tamper with this recipe since it was getting such good reviews, but my phobia won over and I reduced the amount of sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I did what another member suggested and did not beat in the dry ingredients. This may have resulted in the lightness and fluffiness of my cake. I baked it for about 35 minutes, and ate almost 1/4 of it right after I took it out of the oven. It was absolutely delicious! Moist and not to sweet. Maybe next time I'll try adding more sugar and more spices (only because I'm a spice person, the recipe is indeed very good as is). I'm waiting for it to cool right now and I'm going to have some friends taste it this evening. Hopefully they would like it as much as I liked it. Thank you Georgie for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
Made this for Christmas dinner. Big hit. I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain. Goes great with egg nog and a little bit of spiced rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States