Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
dense and moist with a light crispy crust! seems to be a pretty forgiving recipe too as i did not use exact measurements. i subbed in more yogurt instead of all the butter as directed below. i also decreased the sugar. and after mixing everything, the batter seemed a bit too dry so i added an extra egg. i used a bundt pan and the cooking time was def way longer than 35 minutes -- closer to 50 as others have posted. even with all these adjustments and my rather slapdash method, it turned out wonderfully. will def make again, but will prob cut out more sugar and use a cream cheese glaze. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
It is not too often that I give a recipe such a low rating. I followed this recipe to the T and found it to have such a strange texture and a strange taste. My husband thought that it tasted like one of those cakes that you pour milk over. There was one overwhelming spice flavor in this cake, not too sure but I think it was the cloves since they tend to be a strong spice. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Followed directions exactly. The cake has a wonderful flavor! The only drawback is that it is not really pretty- the cake falls just a bit (made in a 9 X 13 dish). But it is not ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
SO delicious! I follwed previous reviewer by adding more yogurt, less butter. Added heaping amounts of spices and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HealthFoodPlease
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe verbatim except: Substituted half of the butter with yogurt as per the directions on another website: "When a recipe calls for butter, replace half the butter with half as much yogurt. For instance, instead of 1 cup butter, use 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup yogurt." So I used 1/2c butter and 1/4 c extra yogurt, it turned out wonderfully! Dense and moist. Used 2TB pumpkin seasoning because it was on hand, but it could've used 3 or even 4 if you like strong flavoring. Also used 2 or 3 TB lemon extract and squeezed 1/2 one fresh lemon in to the wet ingredients. I've heard that corn starch (2TB per egg, maybe 4TB dissolved in one egg) or banana (1 small or medium banana) can substitute for eggs, next time I made this I'd probably try that and cut some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthFoodPlease
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
My yogurt was about to expire so I thought I'd give this cake a try. I made a few changes: I didn't have butter but I had some left over applesauce... so instead of 1c butter I used 1/2c apple sauce and 1/2c oil. I accidentally doubled the baking soda. And I did not have allspice. I left the other spice amounts the same. I didn't have the right size pan so I baked it in two round cake pans (same temperature/same time). It turned out wonderfully! I've marked this as a favourite and I'll definitely be baking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made this cake today. Followed the recipe exactly. Very moist and great tasting. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Used up the last of my plain yogurt! Followed the tips from baricat, minus the mace. Had a test piece and was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
A wonderful recipe, made this cake twice this holiday season...very good, does not need icing at all..just a dusting of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
My whole family loved this, even my pickiest niece! I made as is, except for adding a little more of the dry spices to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States