Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This is about the absolute best spice cake I've ever had! Took it to work for a co-worker's birthday and people asked me for the recipe all day long. I gave credit where it was due! Thank you for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
It's been 4 years since I submitted this recipe--my how time goes by--well I just wanted to say that originally I did use a bundt pan but it would take so very long to bake so I thought that it would be better to suggest using a 9 x 13 pan. The five star rating is for all the wonderful people and their very kind and generous reviews. Also I sometimes drizzle a sugar glaze over the cake or use vanilla or cream cheese frosting too. My family still insists that I make this cake for the holidays. Enjoy! ALSO, please make sure you use a full 1 cup (8 ounces) of the yogurt as the yogurt they sell today is only 6 oz and less yogurt will cause a dryer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
We absolutely loved this! It was moist and had the taste of a pumpkin pie. I used margarine instead of butter and 1 1/4tsp of pumpkin pie spice in place of both the cloves and allspice. I had to bake it for 45 minutes because it was still gooey at 35. I didn't frost it because it really didn't need any but I bet a cream cheese icing would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
I made this cake several times over the winter. It was so good!! I experimented with various flavors and it was a hit every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I thought...this one has to be a winner, with five stars and positive reviews. Wrong! The only change I made was to make this recipe in loaf pans. The cake tested done after an hour but was raw and heavy inside. The flavor was good, and the exterior nice and brown, but the interior was raw. I've always used loaf pans and 9x13 pans interchangeably, so I blame the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
This was very good. Moist, holds it's shape when sliced, and the yogurt adds a nice creamy note. I served it with strawberries and whipped cream, and it was a hit. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Love this cake! I made it in two loaf pans and cooked it for 45 minutes on 325F. The only problem I had was that it 'fell' after I took it out of the oven. Next time, I'll turn the oven off after 45 minutes and leave the loaves in the oven until it is cool (they were a little under cooked, despite the fact that my toothpick check was clean). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Excellent cake..this time I added orange extract and grated orange rind for a delicious orange spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is a wonderful easy spice cake. I would add nuts next time. I make 2 8X8 cakes. I also added a little rum to the mix and also the confection iceing I drizzle overtop. This is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Delicious! I've made this several times and always receive compliments! Plain yogurt is good, but I've used flavored also - whatever is in the frig! The spices are a perfect blend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States