Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I love itt..i'm a beginner baker, and usually when i bake cakes it turns out kind of heavy and sticky, but this turn out quite fluffy and light! Does anyone have any ideas about adding other ingredients?? cause i want to bake other cakes but have the exact texture like this one... oh and mine is still a little bit sticky on the top..it's done, but when your finger touches it, it's kind of sticky..any idea why this happens, or is it natural?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
everyone loved it! I only had cinnamon for spices so i added extra vanilla and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I love this recipe!!! I have made it three times already. The first time I just sprinkled powdered sugar over it. The cake has such a delicious flavor, so it's good enough like that. But then I took the suggestion in a few reviews and tried it with cream cheese frosting. Yum! It really brings out the flavor of the spices! I didn't change anything in the recipe except I made it in a 9x13 pan instead of a bundt pan. Oh, and I did overbake it slightly the first time, as the edges were just a little too brown for my taste (but that's my oven for ya). Anyway, it's a great cake for any occasion! I just really enjoy spice cakes, so I don't need an excuse such as a holiday to make it! Enjoy! Thanks, Georgie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was ok. I had leftover plain yogurt and decided to make it. I took it to my office and they did not eat all of it, which tells you something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
My cake fell in the middle! :( But I blame myself for opening the oven early in the baking to check on it. Never-the-less, this is a very tasty, moist cake. It is lighter than a traditional pound cake and delicately spiced. Those who like their cakes very spicy may wish to increase the amount of spices slightly. After trying it plain (which was delicious!) I brushed on a lemon glaze made with 1 cup powdered sugar and 3 TBS lemon juice. I will definitely try this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This was very tasty. Be sure to give the butter plenty of time to soften. My bundt cake turned out like an oversized donut, however. I left it in the oven (as another reviewer suggested) while the oven cooled but it didn't help. I'd make this again but probably not in the bundt pan. Also, I made the glaze (1T butter, 1T whole milk, 1 1/2 C powdered sugar) suggested by another reviewer and that turned out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Yummy! I used what I had on had which was fat free vanilla yogurt and I substituted the sugar for Splenda and the eggs with egg beaters. Made as a bundt cake and just adjusted the times accordingly with my oven. The spices really come through. (See Photo) Great with a cup of coffee. Thanks Georgie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This cake was delicious. I used a bundt pan so I had to let it bake for an additional 10 minutes. I was a little nervous about the cake coming out of the pan in one piece. I followed the directions on greasing and flouring the pan as well as letting it sit for 15 minutes and the cake came out beautifully. There is so much flavor in the cake, I didn't want to mask it with a frosting, so I just dusted it with powdered sugar. I brought it into work today and my coworkers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Superb texture and flavor! The tang imparted by the yogurt is the perfect foil for the spices. I've made this twice now. As written, it needed a bit of tweaking. So this time, which was far more successful than when I followed the recipe verbatim, I added 1/2 tsp baking powder to lighten it, 1-1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp freshly ground nutmeg, 1 tsp allspice, 3/4 tsp ground cloves, 1/4 tsp mace, as flavor was a bit pale the first time. Baked it in a greased and floured bundt pan for one hour at 350. Also, I agree with previous poster not to "beat for 2 minutes" after adding the flour. This will encourage excessive gluten development, which will result in a tough product. All the beating should be in the creaming process, with the sugar/butter/egg mixture. After that, once dry ingredients have been added, only a minimum of gentle mixing (on the lowest speed) is necessary, only to incorporate the dry ingredients fully. If you follow these steps, your pound cake will be dense yet tender, with a crumb that's moist yet fully baked. The aroma as it bakes is delightful, and the cake is irresistible. Finished with a glaze made from 1Tb soft butter, 1-1/2 cup powdered sugar, and 1 Tb milk drizzled on the warm cake. No trouble removing from the generously greased and floured pan, when done 15 minutes after removal from the oven. A recipe to be handed down to following generations in your family - it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This was a big hit. I made a couple of changes. I used equivalent cake flour instead of all-purpose flour. I used non fat vanilla yogurt. I baked it in mini-bundt pans and a 6 fluted cake pan. It did not take as long to bake--between 25-30 min. I used confectioner's sugar to top it as suggested.The taste was exquisite. Very light fine texture with the perfect amount of spice. Some of the other reviewers had to bake longer than suggested. I baked less, and I'm not sure if it was the small pans, the cake flour or a combination of both--but I had no problems with it getting cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States