Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This was very tasty. Be sure to give the butter plenty of time to soften. My bundt cake turned out like an oversized donut, however. I left it in the oven (as another reviewer suggested) while the oven cooled but it didn't help. I'd make this again but probably not in the bundt pan. Also, I made the glaze (1T butter, 1T whole milk, 1 1/2 C powdered sugar) suggested by another reviewer and that turned out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Yummy! I used what I had on had which was fat free vanilla yogurt and I substituted the sugar for Splenda and the eggs with egg beaters. Made as a bundt cake and just adjusted the times accordingly with my oven. The spices really come through. (See Photo) Great with a cup of coffee. Thanks Georgie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This cake was delicious. I used a bundt pan so I had to let it bake for an additional 10 minutes. I was a little nervous about the cake coming out of the pan in one piece. I followed the directions on greasing and flouring the pan as well as letting it sit for 15 minutes and the cake came out beautifully. There is so much flavor in the cake, I didn't want to mask it with a frosting, so I just dusted it with powdered sugar. I brought it into work today and my coworkers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Superb texture and flavor! The tang imparted by the yogurt is the perfect foil for the spices. I've made this twice now. As written, it needed a bit of tweaking. So this time, which was far more successful than when I followed the recipe verbatim, I added 1/2 tsp baking powder to lighten it, 1-1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp freshly ground nutmeg, 1 tsp allspice, 3/4 tsp ground cloves, 1/4 tsp mace, as flavor was a bit pale the first time. Baked it in a greased and floured bundt pan for one hour at 350. Also, I agree with previous poster not to "beat for 2 minutes" after adding the flour. This will encourage excessive gluten development, which will result in a tough product. All the beating should be in the creaming process, with the sugar/butter/egg mixture. After that, once dry ingredients have been added, only a minimum of gentle mixing (on the lowest speed) is necessary, only to incorporate the dry ingredients fully. If you follow these steps, your pound cake will be dense yet tender, with a crumb that's moist yet fully baked. The aroma as it bakes is delightful, and the cake is irresistible. Finished with a glaze made from 1Tb soft butter, 1-1/2 cup powdered sugar, and 1 Tb milk drizzled on the warm cake. No trouble removing from the generously greased and floured pan, when done 15 minutes after removal from the oven. A recipe to be handed down to following generations in your family - it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This was a big hit. I made a couple of changes. I used equivalent cake flour instead of all-purpose flour. I used non fat vanilla yogurt. I baked it in mini-bundt pans and a 6 fluted cake pan. It did not take as long to bake--between 25-30 min. I used confectioner's sugar to top it as suggested.The taste was exquisite. Very light fine texture with the perfect amount of spice. Some of the other reviewers had to bake longer than suggested. I baked less, and I'm not sure if it was the small pans, the cake flour or a combination of both--but I had no problems with it getting cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Delicious! Fragrant, moist & delicious with tea!! It turned out really well, but I needed to bake it for about an hour until it was cooked on the inside well enough. I had a slightly smaller pan (8x11.5 I think) I dont know if that made a difference. Anyone know if this recipe can be used to make muffins too? EDIT: It DOES make wonderful muffins! I've done this several times since posting my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAFFELZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Wonderful flavor! It's a nicely delicate spiced cake. I added 1/8 tsp of cardamom to the rest but that's all I added. I usually prefer to rate the recipe exactly as it is given here, otherwise I'm rating MY version of the recipe instead, but since this was such a small addition, it wouldn't change it significantly. And this is a GREAT cake! Light, tasty and not at all bland. The only problem I had was that it still stuck in spite of a heavy greasing and flouring of the pan. So it remains a sheet cake from now on, that's all! It's still WAY worth making. It's a simple one to make so go ahead and try this one. I think you'll love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This is about the absolute best spice cake I've ever had! Took it to work for a co-worker's birthday and people asked me for the recipe all day long. I gave credit where it was due! Thank you for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
It's been 4 years since I submitted this recipe--my how time goes by--well I just wanted to say that originally I did use a bundt pan but it would take so very long to bake so I thought that it would be better to suggest using a 9 x 13 pan. The five star rating is for all the wonderful people and their very kind and generous reviews. Also I sometimes drizzle a sugar glaze over the cake or use vanilla or cream cheese frosting too. My family still insists that I make this cake for the holidays. Enjoy! ALSO, please make sure you use a full 1 cup (8 ounces) of the yogurt as the yogurt they sell today is only 6 oz and less yogurt will cause a dryer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
We absolutely loved this! It was moist and had the taste of a pumpkin pie. I used margarine instead of butter and 1 1/4tsp of pumpkin pie spice in place of both the cloves and allspice. I had to bake it for 45 minutes because it was still gooey at 35. I didn't frost it because it really didn't need any but I bet a cream cheese icing would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States