Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This didn't have the texture that pound cakes usually have (in my experience), but it was moist and delicious. I'll be making it again, I'm sure. I combined the spice suggestions posted in some other reviews and used 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. allspice, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 3/4 tsp. cloves, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. baking soda, 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, and 1/8 tsp. cardamom. It only took 35 minutes to be perfectly baked in my 9x13 pan and I had no trouble turning it out onto a baking sheet after letting it cool. Additionally, I served this dusted with powdered sugar and then I spooned a simple lemon sauce over the top. For the lemon sauce, melt 1/2 c. butter or margarine in the microwave. Whisk in 1 c. granulated sugar, 1 tsp. grated lemon peel, and 1/3 c. fresh lemon juice (for me, the juice of 2 lemons). Add 1 egg and whisk again until blended. Microwave on medium-high (70%) for 4 minutes, stirring at the halfway point. It will thicken up a bit. Serve warm. I served it to my husband and a friend and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Delicious! Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Made by the recipe except added a touch more cinnamon and nutmeg. I baked in two 9-inch square pans and it still turned out great - a bit thin so next time I'll use 8-inch pans. Definitely no icing needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Great Recipe! The original is the best. Also tried it whole wheat flour and low fat yogurt - still works pretty gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
My guests seemed to like this, but I would give it only 3 stars. I added extra spice like people suggested, but I think it could have used even more. The consistency and moisture were really good, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I have a phobia for cakes that are overly sweet, so everytime I get a recipe, I always reduce the amount of sugar. At first I didn't want to tamper with this recipe since it was getting such good reviews, but my phobia won over and I reduced the amount of sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I did what another member suggested and did not beat in the dry ingredients. This may have resulted in the lightness and fluffiness of my cake. I baked it for about 35 minutes, and ate almost 1/4 of it right after I took it out of the oven. It was absolutely delicious! Moist and not to sweet. Maybe next time I'll try adding more sugar and more spices (only because I'm a spice person, the recipe is indeed very good as is). I'm waiting for it to cool right now and I'm going to have some friends taste it this evening. Hopefully they would like it as much as I liked it. Thank you Georgie for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was superb! I followed the suggestions from a fellow reviewer: 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 mace, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I heavily floured and greased the pan and baked it for 45 min. It was peeeerfect! I drizzled some icing on it (2 tbsp milk, 1 tbsp margarine, 1 cup icing sugar). This was a great recipe! This was my first time making a pound cake. You cannot go wrong with this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
this is a great recipe!! i used just half the sugar, added much more spice and used vanilla yogurt. i cooked it in a loaf pan for nearly an hour! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I love itt..i'm a beginner baker, and usually when i bake cakes it turns out kind of heavy and sticky, but this turn out quite fluffy and light! Does anyone have any ideas about adding other ingredients?? cause i want to bake other cakes but have the exact texture like this one... oh and mine is still a little bit sticky on the top..it's done, but when your finger touches it, it's kind of sticky..any idea why this happens, or is it natural?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
everyone loved it! I only had cinnamon for spices so i added extra vanilla and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States