Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Great Recipe! The original is the best. Also tried it whole wheat flour and low fat yogurt - still works pretty gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
My guests seemed to like this, but I would give it only 3 stars. I added extra spice like people suggested, but I think it could have used even more. The consistency and moisture were really good, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I have a phobia for cakes that are overly sweet, so everytime I get a recipe, I always reduce the amount of sugar. At first I didn't want to tamper with this recipe since it was getting such good reviews, but my phobia won over and I reduced the amount of sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I did what another member suggested and did not beat in the dry ingredients. This may have resulted in the lightness and fluffiness of my cake. I baked it for about 35 minutes, and ate almost 1/4 of it right after I took it out of the oven. It was absolutely delicious! Moist and not to sweet. Maybe next time I'll try adding more sugar and more spices (only because I'm a spice person, the recipe is indeed very good as is). I'm waiting for it to cool right now and I'm going to have some friends taste it this evening. Hopefully they would like it as much as I liked it. Thank you Georgie for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was superb! I followed the suggestions from a fellow reviewer: 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 mace, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I heavily floured and greased the pan and baked it for 45 min. It was peeeerfect! I drizzled some icing on it (2 tbsp milk, 1 tbsp margarine, 1 cup icing sugar). This was a great recipe! This was my first time making a pound cake. You cannot go wrong with this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
this is a great recipe!! i used just half the sugar, added much more spice and used vanilla yogurt. i cooked it in a loaf pan for nearly an hour! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I love itt..i'm a beginner baker, and usually when i bake cakes it turns out kind of heavy and sticky, but this turn out quite fluffy and light! Does anyone have any ideas about adding other ingredients?? cause i want to bake other cakes but have the exact texture like this one... oh and mine is still a little bit sticky on the top..it's done, but when your finger touches it, it's kind of sticky..any idea why this happens, or is it natural?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
everyone loved it! I only had cinnamon for spices so i added extra vanilla and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I love this recipe!!! I have made it three times already. The first time I just sprinkled powdered sugar over it. The cake has such a delicious flavor, so it's good enough like that. But then I took the suggestion in a few reviews and tried it with cream cheese frosting. Yum! It really brings out the flavor of the spices! I didn't change anything in the recipe except I made it in a 9x13 pan instead of a bundt pan. Oh, and I did overbake it slightly the first time, as the edges were just a little too brown for my taste (but that's my oven for ya). Anyway, it's a great cake for any occasion! I just really enjoy spice cakes, so I don't need an excuse such as a holiday to make it! Enjoy! Thanks, Georgie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was ok. I had leftover plain yogurt and decided to make it. I took it to my office and they did not eat all of it, which tells you something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
My cake fell in the middle! :( But I blame myself for opening the oven early in the baking to check on it. Never-the-less, this is a very tasty, moist cake. It is lighter than a traditional pound cake and delicately spiced. Those who like their cakes very spicy may wish to increase the amount of spices slightly. After trying it plain (which was delicious!) I brushed on a lemon glaze made with 1 cup powdered sugar and 3 TBS lemon juice. I will definitely try this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States