Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
This cake was wonderful - with my slight changes. I used 2 containers (5.3 oz. each) of fruit-flavored Greek yogurt because that is what I had; this made just a tad more than 1 cup, but the fruit would account for that extra so I used all of it, and did NOT thin it at all. I also followed a previous review and added 1/2 tsp. baking powder to lighten the texture a little. By using the conventional method to mix the batter, it turned out with a velvety texture, and the flavor was great. (Conventional mixing means: cream butter & sugar till fluffy, then beat in eggs one at a time; add vanilla. Sift together flour, spices, salt, baking soda and baking powder; add to batter alternately with yogurt, beating only until blended.) I baked the cake in a bundt pan that has a dark non-stick surface, so I always reduce the baking temp by 25 degrees, and I always grease & flour the pan to be sure the cake will come out in one piece. It took about 60 minutes to bake, tested with a toothpick to be sure it was done. Let the cake rest in the pan for 15 minutes (so the structure sets), then turn out onto cake platter to finish cooling. And I don't always let it cool completely before cutting a slice to sample!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Very moist and tasty. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I was wanting an easy dessert and found this recipe. It is very quick and simple to make. I followed the instructions exactly and it turned out amazing! My husband just asked me to make 11 more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly93
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made these for a friend's 6th birthday party and got many compliments! Used the maple butter frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I loved the simplicity! Made this twice, and the recipe adapts to substitutions easily! The first time, I added pears and blueberries to the top (simmered with brown sugar briefly first), followed the rest exactly, baked for an extra 10 min in two loaf pans... Gooey fruity and spicy! The second time, used lime flavoured yogurt, lemon extract instead of vanilla, skipped the spices, added a few spoons of unsweetened flaked coconut, with coconut sprinkled on top... Tropical poundcake! Omg can't wait to experiment more. Always keep (freeze) your expired yogurt/sour cream for recipes like this! I freeze one loaf and we eat the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I like to cut recipes in half often and I did with this one, using only one egg and pumpkin flavored yogurt. Baked in an 8x8 pan. Turned out great, very moist. May have to jack up the spices a bit with plain yogurt, when seasonal pumpkin is not available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have made this cake for 40 years. Occasionally, I'll substitute lemon yogurt and lemon extract for the yogurt and vanilla respectively. This is a great cake to experiment with different flavors. It is always moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Loved this cake made as a bundt following Baricat's recommendations. Spot on! Guests loved it too and requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This cake came out fantastic and moist! I beat the sugar and butter for quite some time and then added each egg, beating well, then vanilla and the yogurt. I beat this mixture for a couple minutes then added the dry ingredients and mixed just enough to incorporate. I added a 1/2 teaspoon baking powder as others suggested. Baked in a Bundt pan, took almost an hour. Perfect! This cake was so moist, I may try it without the spices or just as a cinnamon cake. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States