Spiced-Up Grilled Tater Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Love potatoes done like this! Excellent flavor. For those who use a microwave, you really should try boiling instead - boiling removes a thin layer of starch on the outside of the potato, which promotes browning and crisping of the surface of the potato when grilling or roasting. You won't get this with a microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Excellent! Dump the spices into two TBSP of olive oil, toss the potato in it, tip the bowl to pour the excess oil onto the sheet, smear it around and drop the potatoes--abracadabra: oiled cookie sheet and potatoes ready to go! Mix the sour cream with Heinz 57 and crushed pineapple for a different dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter J Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I used unpeeled red potatoes cut into bite sized pieces. I omitted the cumin and added sage. Next time I will add just a bit of salt. I was making this for 20 people, so I cooked them two ways to save time. Sprayed cookie sheets with olive oil pam, added a single layer of potatoes and sprayed those with pam and sprinkled the seasonings on top. Baked in the oven at 400 for about an hour. They were a little dry so I put them in a covered casserole dish with about a Tbsp of water and microwaved on high for 2 minutes. The water steamed the already cooked potatoes and made them moist. The second way I cooked the potatoes was to just spray a casserole dish with olive oil pam, spray the potatoes [while on a cookie sheet] and season and add to the casserole dish. I cooked them in the microwave for about 20 minutes on high, stirring halfway through. Put the potatoes in a foil pan on the grill to keep hot while burgers were cooking. Kids and adults loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I made a batch of these last night, and must admit that I doubled the amount of spices used. I planned to use twice the number of potatoes, but decided instead to use the doubled mix on just the four. I'm glad I did, as the flavor was just right! I also mixed up some Buffalo Ranch salad dressing with some plain sour cream to make a tasty dip that went well with the spice of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I added some extra spices but followed the recipe for cooking. They were great! We ate them for dinner and breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I used red potatoes, added a little salt and doubled the spices for 6 med red potatoes. I couldn't find my cayenne so I used chipotle and smoked paprika. I still sprinkled mine with more salt after they were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I didn't boil these long enough and the spices were just okay......I'll probably try them again and add more seasoning to the taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I used two large baking potatoes and doubled the amounts of spices. Instead of vegetable cooking spray, I used EVOO. I liked the idea of this recipe, I loved the spice mix but the cooking method just wasn't a win for me. I think next time, I'll just cut the potatoes into wedges, coat the wedges with oil and toss with the spices, then bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
These were nice but not an 'every week' recipe. They are pretty spicy, so my men were all over that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I used a different method for cooking the potatoes... I peel, slice and lightly coat in EVOO then essentially cook in the microwave for 6 minutes, removing and shaking the loosely covered container the fries are in. Once done with the microwave, toss with seasonings and bake for about 30-45 minutes, once they get crispy. This way they are tender on the inside but crisp on the inside. You can also add some cornstarch to the mix (roughly 1 tablespoon) to ensure crispiness. I doubled the seasonings for roughly 8 really small potatoes. I used a hot chili powder instead of cayenne, celery seed instead of the celery salt and added a half teaspoon of salt. It could have used a wee bit more spice and salt, but it was mild enough for my toddler to enjoy too. We didn't serve it with sour cream... Ketchup and mayo is the way we flow. Served this as a side to "Bayou Samburgers" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States