Spiced Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Excellent Recipe!!! What a shame someone would give this recipe a bad review when the problem was probably in their own choice of ingredients or their lack of knowledge. I've made this tea mix for years and given it as gifts too. My family would be distraught without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This is a really good tea mix. It's too bad someone gave it a bad review because it really has a nice flavor. Especially if you like sweet and tangy. I agree with the previous reviewer about the orange flavor being dominant. I even added a box of orange or peach gelatin (I don't remember which). Will certainly be making this around the holidays. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Great recipe!! I gave this as a gift in a mason jar. I did put red hots in the mix to add more color. Great when served with cinnamon sticks or candy canes! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
WE LOVE THIS RECIPE! It doesn't take a rocket scientist to make this delicious tea! Children age 10 can create this wonderful tea... Thanks for sharing it for all to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I'm a teacher and received a small bag of this. I ended up getting the recipe to make more. Easy and a great gift to give!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I made the sugar free version of this with crystal light orange breakfast drink mix and Publix brand instant sweet tea with lemon sweeted with nutrasweet. And, let me tell you, it was sooooooooo good. I looked for tons of recipes for this online so I could make the best one. The initial bad rating this recipe got kindof threw me off at first (but I couldn't find another sugar free version) so I tried it. And I also tried a decaffeinated version that wasn't sugar free from another recipe I had where I used Tang, and it paled in comparison. This recipe is the best! Now, I'm off to try the caffeine sugar version. I think it will come out marvelously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
My mom always made this around the holidays growing up, and we loved it (she called it "Tang Tea"). You HAVE to use the lemon-flavored, sweetened iced tea mix! Or, if you use UNsweetened iced tea mix, you have to add sugar as well. Otherwise it's very bitter. I imagine this is the mistake that the people who gave the recipe a bad rating made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I love this tea mix. The orange flavor in it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Patsy, this is a lovely tea mix. I've had hot spiced tea in several restaurants, and this certainly competes with them all. It's easy to add new spices to the mix and create new "strains" of the tea, such as adding vanilla or crushed raspberry candies. As for the low rating, it might be a good idea to practice ahead of time if giving as a gift to be sure of it's success. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
We have made this tea for years and enjoy it completely. Like any recipe of this nature, you can tweak it to your liking. A little more tea, little more Tang..add presweetened lemonade... Or, you can do what we do..I have extra tea and extra Tang available and you can add more of what you want..or not. One thing I like to do when I make a pot of this is to use whole cloves instead of ground cloves, and throw (well gently lay) a couple orange slices in. Makes a great holiday drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States