Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good! I cut down on the cayenne a little since I'm a wimp, but otherwise followed the recipe (well, except for serving at room temperature because that's just not my preference). Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Don't know if I can wait for it to chill. It tastes fantastic now! Very fast and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachBum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
FANTASTIC! I did roast the red pepper myself, because I couldn't find any jarred ones at the store. [Method: I cut off the stem of one red pepper, then cut it in half, cut out the ribs and smashed it as flat as I could. I put it under the broiler on a piece of foil for about 7 minutes (your mileage may vary). Once it was nicely blackened, I took it out and put it in a ziplock baggie for about 15 minutes to steam. When I took it out, the skin peeled off very easily.] I also added a small amount of oil -- maybe 1 tablespoon -- to help thin it out a bit, as it was VERY thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANVEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaines, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The ingredients are about right, but the steps are all wrong. The beans need to be cooked before pureeing. And it has to be pureed alone, maybe just with the seasoning first. Then the tahini. Then the peppers. When I followed the recipe, it was inconsistent and chunky, because the beans were so unforgiving, even more so with the peppers in the mix. The idea's there, but the execution is all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was very good but fortunately I read the other reviews indicating a little too much cayenne. Update-I made again and with these modifications rate 5!! Use much less cumin (about 1/4 tsp) and even less cayenne (a little more than 1/8 but not quite 1/4 tsp) and 3/4 of bigger jar of roasted red pepper. I put in most of the juice of roasted red peppers for a smooth, creamy texture. This way the roasted peppers come thru and aren't overpowered by the other spices, particulurely the cayenne. But just enough to give a suttle bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great hummus recipe! I would use a little less lemon next time, but yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is good, but not great. Reduction of Tahini and parsley could make this less bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
WOW!! BEST EVER!!! Didn't change a thing! THIS IS AWESOME!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
this is super yummy!! I roasted my own red pepper for this on the bbq. turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States