Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Delicious..After much searching, I found the tahini next to the peanut butter at my local grocery store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Loved the hummus with the roasted red peppers! I cut back a bit on the cayenne pepper but the lemon juice really hit the spot! To make the tahini from scratch I put 1 cup olive oil to 1 cup roasted sesame seeds (they were in bulk at the store), blend that, then put in the chick peas (with the liquid), 2 garlic cloves not minced, and the rest... made TONS and cut up veggies which was a huge hit! Defintely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have made this several times now. Very easy and delicious. Has a little kick from the spice. I actually only use half the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My husband loves this spiced hummus!! He keeps asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Almost prefect! We used a little more red pepper than mentioned, and the flavor was wonderful! Brought to a family dinner and got lots of compliments and people who have never had hummus before LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Much better than store bought! I Omitted the cayanne pepper and the fresh parsley as I didn't have any on hand. I also used garlic paste rather than minced garlic. I added in 1 tbsp of EVOO to give it a more creamy texture. Paired with toasted pita wedges and cucumber slices this made an awesome entertaining starter. I do recommend using an emulsion blender for this. Gets rid of all the lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Disclaimer: Not a big fan of hummus. Did this according to recipe except used half the cayenne recommended and it's plenty hot. Otherwise it tastes pretty bland. I used the Hummus III recipe last time and added cumin, roasted pepper, and red pepper flakes and I think I like that one better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was great. I couldnt find the tahini so I made it with out it and it still came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
absolutely delicious...followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilleighb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Tastes great. Tahini is hard to find, especially in the middle of the night when ethnic markets are closed and 24-hour grocery stores don't generally carry it (generally when I would crave something like this).. As a substitute for tahini I blended 1/2 tablespoon of toasted sesame seeds in a food processor for ~15seconds, and added a tablespoon of natural peanut butter (i used Adams 100% natural peanut butter), and a drizzle of sesame seed oil if you can find it (i found all 3 of these ingredients at wal-mart), then I put in the rest of the ingredients listed on the recipe and processed. Turned out awesome. Roasting your own peppers is also better, just roast directly over stove top flame or grill until evenly charred all over. Mm mm delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States