Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Yum! I made a double batch, following the recipe except for incorporating these suggestions from other reviewers: I used one whole red pepper that I roasted and instead of adding back some of the liquid from the canned beans I added olive oil (about 2T. for the double batch). The olive oil really gives it a smoothness that you don't get otherwise. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! I doubled the cayenne pepper because my boyfriend and I like spicy hummus. The recipe was so easy and it turned out perfect. Because I only have a blender, I usually end up adding the chickpea liquid so that my blender can actually process the hummus without catching fire. I usually make my own pita bread to go with it for a quick dinner. "Traditional Pita Bread" from this website works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This hummus is amazing - I just had it at a party and got the recipe to make for the holiday. I really like hummus but I LOVE this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Delicious! I roasted my own red pepper to save some money and had to sub tahini for some peanut butter...I was able to find tahini but it was larger than the average jar or pb and not knowing the taste I didn't want to risk 7 dollars and have to throw it away just using 1 1/2 tbl worth. Will be making this often...if I can find a small jar of tahini i'll try that but until then the pb will work just fine. *UPDATE* Invested in the large jar of tahini because peanut butter just doesn't compare. If you are new try it with the pb but the flavor is better with tahini. My kids love this stuff and I love it with veggies or in place of mayo on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Got rave reviews from my coworkers. Use sesame oil in place of the tahini. Oh and don't be afraid of the cayenne pepper. It isn't really that hot. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Oh so good! I doubled this and followed the recipe. I made my own pita chips and also served vegetables. I had made it for an appy at a dinner I was having. A couple of friends stopped by and put a serious dent in it so I made another double batch. Nice and spicy without going overboard. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This recipe is a delicious alternative to regular hummus; the spicy and sweet flavors are perfect. Like any hummus recipe it's easy to tweak to your personal preference (more sour, more spicy, etc.). Sometimes I use roasted garlic for even more flavor. I literally licked the inside of the blender when I first made this, it was so good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Made this recipe as written. Really very easy and very very good. It does have a little kick. So if you dont want that, use less of the cayenne. I am going to add just a little more garlic next time. I went to a local Indian store for the tahini (tahina) paste. This is a liquidy past made from sesame seeds. I also picked up Naan (a great Indian bread). In all it took me about 5-10 minutes to process and serve since I had all the ingredients out. Coworkers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyclechic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This recipe is delicious as is, but I added extra Cumin and Cayenne Pepper and a bit extra red peppers. If you don't have Tahini, it is very easy to make it. Just lightly toast 1/4 cup of sesame seeds in a 350 degree oven for about 5-10 minutes, but do not brown them. Let cool, and then put them in a food processor with about 1 Tablespoon of EVOO, until the Tahini is paste-like. Top the humus with some chopped up roasted red peppers. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
A friend made this and shared the recipe with me b/c it was so fantastic! When I made it, it was spicier, so I'd recommend using less cayenne pepper unless you like spicy! I don't think I"ll ever buy hummus again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States