Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I took this to Women's Club with multi-grain pita chips. Everyone really liked it. I was concerned it may be to hot due to the amount of cayenne pepper in the recipe. It was not. I made the recipe as written except for adding an extra clove of garlic. I always add extra garlic to a recipe that calls for garlic because I am fond of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I love this recipe! Easy, quick and healthy snack to make before work :) If you like more spice I put in about 3 or 4 tablespoons wasabi sauce, alter depending on taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this for a party, along with Hummus III and this was the more popular of the two. I rolled the chickpeas between moistened paper towels to remove most of the thin "shells" on the canned chickpeas. I'd read that helps the consistency and taste. It was a bit tedious, but worth it, IMO. Other than that, I prepared the recipe as written and would not change a thing in the future. It is now in my recipe rotation so I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Fantastic dip! Thank you Marbalet for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
didn't have garbanzo beans so i used white kidney beans and it turned out well. also roasted my own red and yellow peppers and skinned them instead of using from a jar. i fine tuned the spice and lemon levels to my taste and also added an herb mixture. didn't have tahini so i tossed in a handful of sesame seeds and olive oil. this is a good base recipe and is very versatile to suit your taste. fantastic with tosted pita chips. thanks for posting marbalet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I Roasted my own peppers and added some olive oil. Sprinkled with paprika before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstillman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good! I cut down on the cayenne a little since I'm a wimp, but otherwise followed the recipe (well, except for serving at room temperature because that's just not my preference). Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Don't know if I can wait for it to chill. It tastes fantastic now! Very fast and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachBum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
FANTASTIC! I did roast the red pepper myself, because I couldn't find any jarred ones at the store. [Method: I cut off the stem of one red pepper, then cut it in half, cut out the ribs and smashed it as flat as I could. I put it under the broiler on a piece of foil for about 7 minutes (your mileage may vary). Once it was nicely blackened, I took it out and put it in a ziplock baggie for about 15 minutes to steam. When I took it out, the skin peeled off very easily.] I also added a small amount of oil -- maybe 1 tablespoon -- to help thin it out a bit, as it was VERY thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANVEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaines, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The ingredients are about right, but the steps are all wrong. The beans need to be cooked before pureeing. And it has to be pureed alone, maybe just with the seasoning first. Then the tahini. Then the peppers. When I followed the recipe, it was inconsistent and chunky, because the beans were so unforgiving, even more so with the peppers in the mix. The idea's there, but the execution is all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States