Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I use organic peanut butter when I can't find tahini. The taste is almost the same and you can't tell the difference in the recipe. The organic peanut butter is not as sweet as Jiff or Skippy brands. This is my favorite hummas recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Andrew K. Carver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
SANSU... Canned chick peas are already cooked. People, I don't understand why you would write a negative post when you totally change the recipe or if you just don't like it. Try following recipe as written then write your thoughts. If you know you wouldn't like the ingredients in a recipe then simply try it. GEEEZZZ!!! I loved this recipe and I love hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeNe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I detest hummus, but my family LOVES it. I made this, and they loved it. Just a few notes, from other observations. A 4 oz jar of roasted red pepper = a small or 1/2 large pepper. I did broil it for 7-8 minutes on foil, then steamed it in a baggie for 15 to get the skin off (as someone suggested, which worked great). No tahini, but I found a site for substitutes: 3 parts peanut butter and 1 part sesame oil, which also worked great. Added the 1 Tbs olive oil to fluff it a bit. Swapped the parsley with cilantro (good substitute). So essentially, other than the right substitutes, and one added Tbs of olive oil, I made the recipe as is. Go for it, if your family likes hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very good hummus recipe - my wife wasn't a big fan, but I think this is the best hummus recipe we've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
HOLY TOLEDO BATMAN!! This has got to be the best hummus I have ever tasted! And amazingly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Made a batch of this yesterday and just finished it off this morning. Delish! Only changes I made were to use 3 TBSP Tahini (Instead of 1/2 only because I love the stuff) and I added 3 TBSP olive oil (because that's how I was taught to make Hummus by a Palestinian friend) to get it to the consistency I wanted. On a personal note, I would add a bit more salt next time. This stuff is even better the next day, after the flavors have had a chance to develop in the fridge overnight. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
this hummus has a good texture - but not spicy enough; I added hot sauce and more garlic - I won 't try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I made this recipe without any changes. We thought it was very good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I made this for a craft club function. It's wonderfully spicy with a hint of garlic. I doubled the recipe and it worked beautifully. The only thing I did different was to add a little water to make it the consistency I prefer. I love this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States