Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was the best hummus recipe I've ever made. A perfect balance of sweet and spicy. I usually use a little bit less (only 2 tbsp.) of the lemon juice unless I'm in the mood for a more tangy hummus. If you like very smooth hummus I HIGHLY recommend removing the skin from the chickpeas beforehand. It's very tedious (usually takes me an extra 20-30 minutes of prep time) but I promise it is well worth the extra labor. Also worth noting, I've noticed that I sometimes end up having to add a bit of oil and/or water while processing to achieve the desired consistency. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Pretty good, but I think it needs a little something else to perk up the flavor a bit. Next time I would probably increase the salt and lemon juice. I had to add quite a bit of olive oil to get it to a smooth consistency. I roasted my own pepper using the Easy Roasted Peppers recipe on this site, which was easy and I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Great hummus recipe! I roasted my own peppers and added a few more spices (seasoning salt, garlic powder, and curry). I also put in about twice as much lemon juice. This was my first homemade hummus and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I've made a couple other hummus recipes on this site and this is probably the best. I roasted the peppers myself and added olive oil for a smoother consistency. I ate them with pita chips I made with directions from this site, which complemented this really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by analisemae
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Super recipe. I roasted my own pepper (an orange one) and also toasted a tablespoon of sesame seeds and crushed them up with my mortar and pestle, and added a bit of olive oil to make it a paste, since I don't have any tahini. Cut down on the cayenne and left out the parsley, and added some more olive oil and a Tbs of water while I was blending to help it come together. Topped it with a bit of chopped roasted pepper I had reserved. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpersfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was a bit too spicy for my taste, but my husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
FULL of excellent flavor with a hint of heat. If you want less heat, or none at all, reduce or eliminate the cayenne. I did use salt substitute to reduce the sodium, but this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States