Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The ingredients are about right, but the steps are all wrong. The beans need to be cooked before pureeing. And it has to be pureed alone, maybe just with the seasoning first. Then the tahini. Then the peppers. When I followed the recipe, it was inconsistent and chunky, because the beans were so unforgiving, even more so with the peppers in the mix. The idea's there, but the execution is all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was very good but fortunately I read the other reviews indicating a little too much cayenne. Update-I made again and with these modifications rate 5!! Use much less cumin (about 1/4 tsp) and even less cayenne (a little more than 1/8 but not quite 1/4 tsp) and 3/4 of bigger jar of roasted red pepper. I put in most of the juice of roasted red peppers for a smooth, creamy texture. This way the roasted peppers come thru and aren't overpowered by the other spices, particulurely the cayenne. But just enough to give a suttle bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great hummus recipe! I would use a little less lemon next time, but yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is good, but not great. Reduction of Tahini and parsley could make this less bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
WOW!! BEST EVER!!! Didn't change a thing! THIS IS AWESOME!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
this is super yummy!! I roasted my own red pepper for this on the bbq. turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I had never made my own hummus before, but came across this. It's fantastic! The only thing I did different was lessened the tahini and in place used olive oil and also added feta. Evertime I bring this somewhere people rave about how good it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALECIACRUMPLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Wow!! I've never liked hummus and I've never had a reason to leave a review until now. Made exactly as written. Next time I will add some garlic and cilantro. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This sounds really good! I absolutely love hummus! For some reason mine never turns out as smooth as the hummus I've bought before. So far it's always been very chunky. I used my blender, moved the ingredients around to make sure it all gets pureed. What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States