Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was wonderful! I added some chopped roasted garlic instead of minced. Put it all into my Nutri Bullet. I reserved some of the garbanzo bean juice from the can. I was worried that it might be a little too thick for the bullet. So I added some juice towards the end. It made creamier and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Excellent. Last time I made homemade red pepper hummus it just did not turn out, I'm glad I gave it a second chance. I made a couple of slight changes, decreased the lemon juice and added some olive oil, increased the garlic and decreased the cayenne, and it was near perfect. I've tried roasting my own peppers and I think buying the jar was worth it. I got a 12oz jar for a reasonable price, and this recipe only called for 4oz so I have enough to make this 2 more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Everyone in my family loves this! I've made my own hummus for years but this is the recipe that disappears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe often by whizzing it up in my food processor. The addition of four ounces of crumbled feta cheese elevates the flavors immensely. I usually toast pita bread that I split, brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and Parmesan, however this spread is great with crackers or flat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I use organic peanut butter when I can't find tahini. The taste is almost the same and you can't tell the difference in the recipe. The organic peanut butter is not as sweet as Jiff or Skippy brands. This is my favorite hummas recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Andrew K. Carver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
SANSU... Canned chick peas are already cooked. People, I don't understand why you would write a negative post when you totally change the recipe or if you just don't like it. Try following recipe as written then write your thoughts. If you know you wouldn't like the ingredients in a recipe then simply try it. GEEEZZZ!!! I loved this recipe and I love hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeNe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I detest hummus, but my family LOVES it. I made this, and they loved it. Just a few notes, from other observations. A 4 oz jar of roasted red pepper = a small or 1/2 large pepper. I did broil it for 7-8 minutes on foil, then steamed it in a baggie for 15 to get the skin off (as someone suggested, which worked great). No tahini, but I found a site for substitutes: 3 parts peanut butter and 1 part sesame oil, which also worked great. Added the 1 Tbs olive oil to fluff it a bit. Swapped the parsley with cilantro (good substitute). So essentially, other than the right substitutes, and one added Tbs of olive oil, I made the recipe as is. Go for it, if your family likes hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very good hummus recipe - my wife wasn't a big fan, but I think this is the best hummus recipe we've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States