Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Mmmmmm! This recipe is excellent. I roasted my own peppers (To do this, place pepper directly on the burner over a medium flame until skin is blackened on all sides, toss in ice water, remove skin, and voila! roasted red pepper) Soooo good! and much cheaper than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I am not a big fan of hummus but this recipe was great! I made this for my boyfriend who loves hummus, this was the best he ever had. I liked it because of the easiness and quickness - everything goes into the blender! I also liked the flavor that the roasted red pepers gave. The only hard part was finding the tahini at the grocery store. I was lucky to find someone who knew what tahini was. Prior to this recipe I did not know what it was. It is (if you don't know) ground sesame seeds. It is paste-like and comes in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This is my favorite hummus recipe. It's easy to make, very inexpensive and I can adjust the garlic and cayenne pepper to suit my taste (I like a lot of both). I have this on hand all the time as a treat for me! It's not as high fat/high calorie as some other hummus recipes. The color is really pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
We loved it. The roasted red peppers made the hummus such a pretty color, and added another dimension of flavor. The only thing I did differently was to add in some light olive oil as I was blending in the proccesor. (Made the mixture smoother, and it came together better.) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Delicious! I tweaked it a little to suit our tastes, cutting the cayenne to 1/4 teaspoon and adding 1 tablespoon of olive oil. I also pureed it a little longer to make the hummus extra light & fluffy. Thnaks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Nowlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Oh man! Loved loved this!! I doubled the recipe for my family and they thought it was the best they ever tasted. I also added a lil more garlic and a TB of EVOO. I also used cilantro instead of parsley, made for unique change and tasted soo fresh. Will definitely make for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paihia, Northland, New Zealand
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Delicious! It tastes just like the exact kind I get from Trader Joes, only better! I could eat this all in one sitting. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Disclaimer: Not a big fan of hummus. Did this according to recipe except used half the cayenne recommended and it's plenty hot. Otherwise it tastes pretty bland. I used the Hummus III recipe last time and added cumin, roasted pepper, and red pepper flakes and I think I like that one better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
Oh Wow! This was awesome! My husband says it's the best hummus he's EVER had. Thank you so much for the recipe. I'll always be sure to have a batch of this in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This turned out so good! It was way better then store bought and cheaper!!! I went to the store to buy tahini (i have never bought or used before) and the stuff is expensive and only comes in fairly large amounts...so i decided to make my own since all it is is sesame seed paste. To make, slow cook sesame seeds for 15min @ 300. make sure the don't brown. I did 1/4 cup seeds. the ratio is 1 part oil to 4 parts seeds. Place seeds in food processor with 1/2 the oil and pulse until mixed then add the rest of oil and chop/pulse until it forms a paste. When I first mixed all my ingredients together I though the tahini overpowered the recipe but once it chilled for about an hour it was PERFECT!!! I will make this all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States