Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Almost prefect! We used a little more red pepper than mentioned, and the flavor was wonderful! Brought to a family dinner and got lots of compliments and people who have never had hummus before LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Much better than store bought! I Omitted the cayanne pepper and the fresh parsley as I didn't have any on hand. I also used garlic paste rather than minced garlic. I added in 1 tbsp of EVOO to give it a more creamy texture. Paired with toasted pita wedges and cucumber slices this made an awesome entertaining starter. I do recommend using an emulsion blender for this. Gets rid of all the lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Disclaimer: Not a big fan of hummus. Did this according to recipe except used half the cayenne recommended and it's plenty hot. Otherwise it tastes pretty bland. I used the Hummus III recipe last time and added cumin, roasted pepper, and red pepper flakes and I think I like that one better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was great. I couldnt find the tahini so I made it with out it and it still came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
absolutely delicious...followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilleighb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Tastes great. Tahini is hard to find, especially in the middle of the night when ethnic markets are closed and 24-hour grocery stores don't generally carry it (generally when I would crave something like this).. As a substitute for tahini I blended 1/2 tablespoon of toasted sesame seeds in a food processor for ~15seconds, and added a tablespoon of natural peanut butter (i used Adams 100% natural peanut butter), and a drizzle of sesame seed oil if you can find it (i found all 3 of these ingredients at wal-mart), then I put in the rest of the ingredients listed on the recipe and processed. Turned out awesome. Roasting your own peppers is also better, just roast directly over stove top flame or grill until evenly charred all over. Mm mm delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
The taste was great. The only problem was that it was grainy. I think next time I will removed the skins of the beans before making the hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarans93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Yum! I made a double batch, following the recipe except for incorporating these suggestions from other reviewers: I used one whole red pepper that I roasted and instead of adding back some of the liquid from the canned beans I added olive oil (about 2T. for the double batch). The olive oil really gives it a smoothness that you don't get otherwise. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! I doubled the cayenne pepper because my boyfriend and I like spicy hummus. The recipe was so easy and it turned out perfect. Because I only have a blender, I usually end up adding the chickpea liquid so that my blender can actually process the hummus without catching fire. I usually make my own pita bread to go with it for a quick dinner. "Traditional Pita Bread" from this website works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This hummus is amazing - I just had it at a party and got the recipe to make for the holiday. I really like hummus but I LOVE this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States