Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
absolutely delicious...followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilleighb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Tastes great. Tahini is hard to find, especially in the middle of the night when ethnic markets are closed and 24-hour grocery stores don't generally carry it (generally when I would crave something like this).. As a substitute for tahini I blended 1/2 tablespoon of toasted sesame seeds in a food processor for ~15seconds, and added a tablespoon of natural peanut butter (i used Adams 100% natural peanut butter), and a drizzle of sesame seed oil if you can find it (i found all 3 of these ingredients at wal-mart), then I put in the rest of the ingredients listed on the recipe and processed. Turned out awesome. Roasting your own peppers is also better, just roast directly over stove top flame or grill until evenly charred all over. Mm mm delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
The taste was great. The only problem was that it was grainy. I think next time I will removed the skins of the beans before making the hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarans93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Yum! I made a double batch, following the recipe except for incorporating these suggestions from other reviewers: I used one whole red pepper that I roasted and instead of adding back some of the liquid from the canned beans I added olive oil (about 2T. for the double batch). The olive oil really gives it a smoothness that you don't get otherwise. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! I doubled the cayenne pepper because my boyfriend and I like spicy hummus. The recipe was so easy and it turned out perfect. Because I only have a blender, I usually end up adding the chickpea liquid so that my blender can actually process the hummus without catching fire. I usually make my own pita bread to go with it for a quick dinner. "Traditional Pita Bread" from this website works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This hummus is amazing - I just had it at a party and got the recipe to make for the holiday. I really like hummus but I LOVE this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Delicious! I roasted my own red pepper to save some money and had to sub tahini for some peanut butter...I was able to find tahini but it was larger than the average jar or pb and not knowing the taste I didn't want to risk 7 dollars and have to throw it away just using 1 1/2 tbl worth. Will be making this often...if I can find a small jar of tahini i'll try that but until then the pb will work just fine. *UPDATE* Invested in the large jar of tahini because peanut butter just doesn't compare. If you are new try it with the pb but the flavor is better with tahini. My kids love this stuff and I love it with veggies or in place of mayo on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Got rave reviews from my coworkers. Use sesame oil in place of the tahini. Oh and don't be afraid of the cayenne pepper. It isn't really that hot. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Oh so good! I doubled this and followed the recipe. I made my own pita chips and also served vegetables. I had made it for an appy at a dinner I was having. A couple of friends stopped by and put a serious dent in it so I made another double batch. Nice and spicy without going overboard. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This recipe is a delicious alternative to regular hummus; the spicy and sweet flavors are perfect. Like any hummus recipe it's easy to tweak to your personal preference (more sour, more spicy, etc.). Sometimes I use roasted garlic for even more flavor. I literally licked the inside of the blender when I first made this, it was so good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States