Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
OMG! I finally found a recipe for hummus that I absolutely love. I doubled the recipe. I love Trader Joe's 3-Layer Hummus dip (especially the spicy layer) and can eat the whole container in one sitting. I needed to find a recipe in which I could make it by the pail (not some small little container) -- I think I found it. I could eat this for every meal of the day. Thank you for sharing! I would give you 10 stars but the max is 5. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! Of course I doubled the recipe and added a little more parsley, 6 garlic, a splash of olive oil and I used fresh roasted red peppers (2); cleaned and seeded. Stored in little containers for snacks with lunch throughout the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is SO much better than what you buy in the grocery store, and very easy to make! I made this the first time as the recipe states, and the second time, I doubled the tahini, just because I love it. Great recipe! I've recommended it several times. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I didn't use can, I cooked my own Chick Peas and I used a fresh red pepper roasted, I added 0.5oz of a fresh jaapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Wright Carr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was the best hummus recipe I've ever made. A perfect balance of sweet and spicy. I usually use a little bit less (only 2 tbsp.) of the lemon juice unless I'm in the mood for a more tangy hummus. If you like very smooth hummus I HIGHLY recommend removing the skin from the chickpeas beforehand. It's very tedious (usually takes me an extra 20-30 minutes of prep time) but I promise it is well worth the extra labor. Also worth noting, I've noticed that I sometimes end up having to add a bit of oil and/or water while processing to achieve the desired consistency. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Pretty good, but I think it needs a little something else to perk up the flavor a bit. Next time I would probably increase the salt and lemon juice. I had to add quite a bit of olive oil to get it to a smooth consistency. I roasted my own pepper using the Easy Roasted Peppers recipe on this site, which was easy and I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Great hummus recipe! I roasted my own peppers and added a few more spices (seasoning salt, garlic powder, and curry). I also put in about twice as much lemon juice. This was my first homemade hummus and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I've made a couple other hummus recipes on this site and this is probably the best. I roasted the peppers myself and added olive oil for a smoother consistency. I ate them with pita chips I made with directions from this site, which complemented this really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States