Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This smells soooooo good while cooking! My crock pot is a "beast" and cooks super hot and fast, so this was done on low in 4 hours. I used the "pumpkin pie spice II" recipe on this site and am very happy with the results. Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is easy and so delicious. My son wanted "homestyle" apple sauce and I didn't want all the extra ingredients of purchased. He loves it! Delicious on ice cream. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very good, I also added just a pinch of nutmeg. Thank you so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was a no-brainer. Really worked out fabulously with almost no effort at all. Ten times better than anything bought in the store, too. My kids will tolerate the store bought organic, but they LOVED this. It's just like eating the inside of an apple pie. I upped the quantity of the pumpkin pie spice to a full tsp. and I also added the spice and the brown sugar to the crockpot during the cooking process. Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing. EDITED 06/17/08: I made this today with half pear and half apples. This is a great way to use your excess crops or fruit that just didn't get eaten fast enough. My kids just can't get enough of this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
YUMMY!!! This is easy and the taste is excellent! I used apple Pie spice. This disapeared the same night it was made! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is a great recipe. I liked that I didn't have to make a mess of my stove! I can't wait to serve it at supper tonight! The kids will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paullina, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
A REAL KEEPER. Last night, I added water to my Crockpot, cut up my apples (a combination of Granny Smith's and Gala's), used Apple Pie Spice (a combination of Cinnamon, Nutmeg and Allspice)(a generous "sprinkling"), tossed in the Brown Sugar (what I would call a "handful"), added a handful of raisins and "short sprinkle" (perhaps 8-10) of "Hot Dots", and turned the appliance on (LOW). This morning, I made our Oatmeal (a regular occurrence in our household -- except that no one really likes it; sometimes it's Cream of Wheat -- which is better received, but not loved) and topped each bowl with a GENEROUS/HEFTY spoonful of this Applesauce (which had been cooking for no less than 10 hours). Not only did no one (1 DH and 3 adult "children") complain, but my DH and BOTH of my sons (aged 20+) actually refilled their Oatmeal bowls so that they could have more of the "topping". Better than this it rarely gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I had a bunch of apples I had to do something with quickly, so this was a great way to use them up before they went bad. I personally could barely smell it while it was cooking, only could smell it a bit at the end, but nevertheless turned out very well. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and put some of it on plain oatmeal as a topping - delicious!!! I would definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABCT77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe was very good. I used gala and golden delicious apples, therefore I only added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and the pumpkin pie spice II that another reviwer suggested. I substituted allspice for the cloves since I don't like the bitterness of cloves. I used 1 to 1-1/2 teaspoons of the spioce mixture in the applesauce and it turned out quite well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Really good...the brown sugar is waaay better than a whole ton of white sugar...little nutmeg little allspice!! ummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANIMAL LOVER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States