Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was a no-brainer. Really worked out fabulously with almost no effort at all. Ten times better than anything bought in the store, too. My kids will tolerate the store bought organic, but they LOVED this. It's just like eating the inside of an apple pie. I upped the quantity of the pumpkin pie spice to a full tsp. and I also added the spice and the brown sugar to the crockpot during the cooking process. Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing. EDITED 06/17/08: I made this today with half pear and half apples. This is a great way to use your excess crops or fruit that just didn't get eaten fast enough. My kids just can't get enough of this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
A REAL KEEPER. Last night, I added water to my Crockpot, cut up my apples (a combination of Granny Smith's and Gala's), used Apple Pie Spice (a combination of Cinnamon, Nutmeg and Allspice)(a generous "sprinkling"), tossed in the Brown Sugar (what I would call a "handful"), added a handful of raisins and "short sprinkle" (perhaps 8-10) of "Hot Dots", and turned the appliance on (LOW). This morning, I made our Oatmeal (a regular occurrence in our household -- except that no one really likes it; sometimes it's Cream of Wheat -- which is better received, but not loved) and topped each bowl with a GENEROUS/HEFTY spoonful of this Applesauce (which had been cooking for no less than 10 hours). Not only did no one (1 DH and 3 adult "children") complain, but my DH and BOTH of my sons (aged 20+) actually refilled their Oatmeal bowls so that they could have more of the "topping". Better than this it rarely gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
well this my first time making sauce and it was great. i did not have pumkin pie spice so i used alspice and added extra cinnamon. i used only 2/4 cup brown sugar and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRDennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This smells soooooo good while cooking! My crock pot is a "beast" and cooks super hot and fast, so this was done on low in 4 hours. I used the "pumpkin pie spice II" recipe on this site and am very happy with the results. Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Really good...the brown sugar is waaay better than a whole ton of white sugar...little nutmeg little allspice!! ummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANIMAL LOVER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe was very good. I used gala and golden delicious apples, therefore I only added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and the pumpkin pie spice II that another reviwer suggested. I substituted allspice for the cloves since I don't like the bitterness of cloves. I used 1 to 1-1/2 teaspoons of the spioce mixture in the applesauce and it turned out quite well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very good, I also added just a pinch of nutmeg. Thank you so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I REALLY wanted to like this and I made it exactly the way it was written; but, sadly there was just waaaaaaaay too much sugar in it and it was just a little too watery. I really wish I had read some of the reviews before making this. I do plan to make this again; however, I will reduce the water slightly and reduce the sugare to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I had a bunch of apples I had to do something with quickly, so this was a great way to use them up before they went bad. I personally could barely smell it while it was cooking, only could smell it a bit at the end, but nevertheless turned out very well. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and put some of it on plain oatmeal as a topping - delicious!!! I would definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I cannot believe I have made it to 50 years old and have never thot to make applesauce, but I recently had oral surgery and could not eat anything chewy, meaty or crunchy...what to do? Go to AllRecipes! This applesauce was incredible. I used all the different apples in the pantry (I had 11 of them!) including Gala, Fuji, Grannysmith and Honeycrisp. Threw 'em in the 6 qt. slowcooker on low with a cup of water...they were done enough for me at 5 hours. I added a cup of raisins (o glorious plump and juicy raisin, how I worship thee!), a half-cup of brown sugar (the apples would have been fine without it, but I was jonesin' for some sweetness), threw in 1 teaspoon of cinammon, 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg, and a pinch of allspice, mace and cardamom...and the house smells wonderful. 1/2 hour later I was eating applesauce for dinner! Big sloppy kisses to ASG for this wunnerful recipe, that was perfect for my sore lil mouth after surgery, but I will be making again when I feed the firemen next month, and have potlucks in the future. Otherwise, I know me...I will make this pile of yumminess and eat it all myself! I can just imagine what this would be like over vanilla ice cream....sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States